Newbie question about repositories & best practices

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

bbohlen

Newbie question about repositories & best practices

Post by bbohlen » Mon Jun 21, 2004 4:52 pm

Hello, I am an administrator evaluating software for source code control. None of my developers use Visual Studio, we are a J2EE shop.
We'd like to test this out on some existing web applications, but I am new to source control software so I'm not sure where to start.
We have three environments: DEV, TEST, and PROD...which should contain the same files just on different servers. Can I set up a Vault repository for each webapp and each environment, and have the file changes committed to the actual location on the server? Everything I've read so far about repositories indicates that the files are stored somewhere on the Vault server (can't seem to figure out where though).

Ideally, we'd like our developers to each have Working Directories (configured on the Vault client) on their local machines. They would then CheckIn/CheckOut these files to the DEV repository for that webapp. That would then put the file where it belongs on the DEV server.
Once they've tested it initially in DEV, those changes could be propagated to the TEST environment, where it would get QA'ed. Finally they would push the changes to the PROD servers.

jclausius

Re: Newbie question about repositories & best practices

Post by jclausius » Mon Jun 21, 2004 8:31 pm

bbohlen wrote:We'd like to test this out on some existing web applications, but I am new to source control software so I'm not sure where to start.
First off, I'd recommend the following links: Note, you can see the full list of KB articles here: http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?t=792