SOSCMD is unable to update the work folder.

If you are having a problem using SourceOffSite, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
szwart
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:40 am

SOSCMD is unable to update the work folder.

Post by szwart » Thu Oct 23, 2008 4:01 am

We want to use the command line client to retrieve projects from the server and use the GUI client
for all other operations.

We set the environment variable SOSHOME to the default location (the same directory as GUI client uses).
The cache files are removed.
First test:
1) soscmd -command GetProject -server localhost:8080 -name "sjz" -database "\\fs01\R&D\...\srcsafe.ini" -project $/du/projects/multigame/games/menu -verbose -workdir C:\view\menu -recursive
2) soscmd -command GetProject -server localhost:8080 -name "sjz" -database "\\fs01\R&D\...\srcsafe.ini" -project $/du/projects/multigame/games/menu -verbose -workdir C:\view\menu -recursive

Both commands retrieve all files.

Second test:
1) Used the GUI client to retrieve the same project
2) soscmd -command GetProject -server localhost:8080 -name "sjz" -database "\\fs01\R&D\...\srcsafe.ini" -project $/du/projects/multigame/games/menu -verbose -workdir C:\view\menu -recursive

Now the command line doesnot retrieve a file. It see that the correct version is on disk.

So it seems that it is not possible to set the work folder with the command line client ?

Is there a way to update the work folder from the command line client ? If not, is there a possiblity
that this functionality is added to the command line client ? The VSS command line client has this
functionality.

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Re: SOSCMD is unable to update the work folder.

Post by lbauer » Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:24 pm

What version of SOS client and server are you using?
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

szwart
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:40 am

Re: SOSCMD is unable to update the work folder.

Post by szwart » Fri Oct 24, 2008 1:56 am

Server version is 4.2
GUI Client version is 4.1.2

The command line client is packed with the GUI client, I assume that the command line client has the
same version.

szwart
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:40 am

Re: SOSCMD is unable to update the work folder.

Post by szwart » Mon Oct 27, 2008 5:40 am

I tried the 4.2 client as well. The same problem as 4.1.2. This client doesnot update the cache at all.

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Re: SOSCMD is unable to update the work folder.

Post by lbauer » Tue Oct 28, 2008 12:18 pm

You need to run the GUI Client first to create the client-side cache.

You could try using -workdir to change the working directory for a get. This doesn't update the cache, but allows you to use a different working directory.

From SOSCMD Help:
Working directories in the Version 4.0 Command Line Client function
as follows:
If the path to the SourceOffSite home directory is specified by the
-soshome parameter or SOSHOME is set as an environment variable,
the Command Line Client will look for the project or file in, or
fetch the project or file to, the working directory set in the GUI
Client. If the -workdir parameter is specified, the Command Line
Client will use that working directory. Otherwise, the Command
Line Client assumes the current directory.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

szwart
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:40 am

Re: SOSCMD is unable to update the work folder.

Post by szwart » Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:56 am

The reason why we want to use the command line client is that we have to set lots of working directories (> 10).
If the GUI would be used, it could result in lots of errors, since the mapping of project is VSS to working
folders is not straight forward. This because the database structure is not the same as development structure (working directories).
Due to legacy reason, we cannot change this. To prevent error being made during the retrieval of the code, we have
developed a tool, which automates this process. It works with the command line client, but the advantages of the
GUI are not there anymore (i.e. the caching functionality).

So let me refrase the question ?
Is there a way (GUI or command line client) to automate the retrieval process using Source OffSide ?
With the retrieval process I mean: Retrieving a project from VSS and putting it on the local harddrive.

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Re: SOSCMD is unable to update the work folder.

Post by lbauer » Tue Nov 04, 2008 5:23 pm

You could use -workdir and give the path to the directory where you want the files, for instance:

soscmd -command GetProject -Server servername -name user -password password -alias Test -project $/projectname -workdir "C:\MyFolder.

This doesn't set the working folder for the GUI Client, but it at least gets files to the directory. The downside is that it won't be able to use the cache to determine what files don't need to be retrieved again.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

szwart
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:40 am

Re: SOSCMD is unable to update the work folder.

Post by szwart » Mon Dec 08, 2008 7:36 am

And back with original problem. So my conclusion is: this problem cannot be solved ?

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Re: SOSCMD is unable to update the work folder.

Post by lbauer » Wed Dec 10, 2008 3:38 pm

SOSCMD can't use the SOSHOME parameter if the working folder was not set in the GUI Client first.

I've logged feature request 13849 for this functionality.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

szwart
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:40 am

Re: SOSCMD is unable to update the work folder.

Post by szwart » Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:07 am

Thanks. Any idea if and when the feature will be implemented ?

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Re: SOSCMD is unable to update the work folder.

Post by lbauer » Fri Feb 06, 2009 10:55 am

We don't have an implementation date as yet.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

Post Reply