Permissions for SOS service account

If you are having a problem using SourceOffSite, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

mohican21

Permissions for SOS service account

Post by mohican21 » Fri Sep 25, 2009 10:41 am

I searched the FAQ and the forum, but did not see this issue being addressed. I installed SOS server on the same server as VSS. The VSS database is also on the same server, albeit on a different drive (D: instead of C: ). We use Windows integrated authentication for our VSS users, so that they don't have to supply a separate password while accessing VSS. I cannot change this setup since developers have been using VSS for a long time using this method, and would not appreciate having to log in. I understand that in order to use SOS to access the VSS database, I need to use the password method.

When I run the SOS service under my own domain account, since I am a domain admin and also am a VSS user (my VSS username being the same as my domain account name), SOS works fine and I am able to login using my domain account and the VSS password I set up for it. However, if I run the VSS service under any other account (I tried both a non-admin account as well as a domain admin account, one that does NOT have a matching VSS user id), upon trying to login to SOS using my own username and VSS password, I get this error 'The Server was unable to connect to the Sourcesafe database. Check your server's log file for additional information.' When I look at the SOS server log file I see this:

9/25/2009 11:33:47 AM - 2: Exception during Login: The SourceSafe database path \\<servername>\vss_db\data does not exist. Please select another database.
9/25/2009 11:33:47 AM - 2: The SourceSafe database path \\<servername>\vss_db\data does not exist. Please select another database.

I have substituted the actual servername with the placeholder <servername> in the error messages. This is the name of the server hosting VSS server, database and SOS server.