Release Notes for 5.0.1

A collection of information about Vault, including solutions to common problems.

Moderator: SourceGear


Posts: 1821
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 11:39 am
Location: Sourcegear
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 9:48 am
SourceGear Vault 5.0.1 is a maintenance release for Vault 5.0. If you have not upgraded to Vault 5.0, see http://sourcegear.com/vault/releases/5.0.html for more information.
Installation Notes

Please ensure you have a verified backup of your database before upgrading, and upgrade at a time when it is convenient to not have access to the server. On very large Vault installations, the upgrade may take several hours.

Vault 5.0 does not support Dragnet integration. Users requiring integrated work item tracking should investigate SourceGear Fortress. Fortress is an integrated solution for application lifecycle management (ALM), including work item tracking and work item clients integrated into Visual Studio and Eclipse.

Vault 5.0 is not backwards compatible with previous versions of Vault. In essence, Vault 5.0.x clients will only interact with Vault 5.0.x servers and vice versa. Vault 2.x, 3.x, and 4.x clients and servers are not compatible with Vault 5.0 clients and servers.

For details on Vault licensing, including upgrade policies and demo keys, please see the Licensing FAQ
Known issues:

Important note when upgrading from the 4.0.6 release: There was a bug in the uninstall routine for the 4.0.6 for users who installed the server and the client together using the server's installer. Upgrading in that situation will succeed, but leave two client shortcuts on the desktop. Please follow the instructions at support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?t=9653 for instructions on removing the 4.0.6 server and client before upgrading.

When using the VS Enhanced Client's "Open From Vault" functionality in Visual Studio 2008, you will not be able to open solutions that have not yet been upgraded by Visual Studio to the Visual Studio 2008 format.
What's New Since Vault 5.0:

Client

* Improved performance when there are large numbers of checked out files
* Shelve All shelved the incorrect files when items were unchecked in the Shelve dialog

API

* Improved performance for some API applications

Server

* Progress wasn't being shown for some repository deletions
* There were a couple of bugs with Shelvesets and FogBugz work items
* Some installations could not upload shelved files
* Removed preferences link from Source Control and Admin web pages

Server Installation

* Vault installations were accidentally creating a Fortress directory under wwwroot
* Install paths with spaces were failing on IIS 7
* Connect string was not being set for SQL authentication installations

Visual Studio Enhanced Client

* Reduced unnecessary refreshes when opening a solution
* Unshelve was failing when there was an add file inside an add folder

CruiseControl.NET Support

* Added new option deleteItemsThatAreNotInTheRepository. When this option is turned on, any files or folders which exist in the target working folder, but not in the repository will be deleted. This gives the ability to have a clean build without downloading all of the files.

Client/Server Version Compatibility

It is always recommended that your client and server versions match exactly (e.g., a 5.0.1 client should be connecting to a 5.0.1 server). 5.0.x clients are able to communicate with any 5.0.x server, but specific bug fixes will not work correctly if they required both client and server changes. 5.0.x clients and servers are not compatible with 1.x, 2.x, 3.x or 4.x clients and servers.
Upgrading From Previous Versions

It is recommended that you backup your Vault database prior to an upgrade. This can be done from either the Vault Admin tool, or the SQL Enterprise Manager tool.

To upgrade from a previous installation of Vault, simply invoke the new installer, and choose the same options that were selected when Vault was previously installed. Program files and configuration settings will be automatically updated to reflect the upgrade. Note that the server installation will not delete your database unless you explicitly tell it to.

You may also safely uninstall Vault first, and then install the upgrade. As with installation, an uninstall will not delete your database unless you explicitly tell it to.
Subscribe to the Fortress/Vault blog

Return to Knowledge Base (Vault)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron