Release Notes for 5.0.3

A collection of information about Vault, including solutions to common problems.

Moderator: SourceGear


Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 8:03 am
SourceGear Vault 5.0.3 is a maintenance release for Vault 5.0. It was released February 4, 2010. If you have not upgraded to Vault 5.0, see sourcegear.com/vault/releases/5.0.html for more information.


Installation Notes

Please ensure you have a verified backup of your database before upgrading, and upgrade at a time when it is convenient to not have access to the server. On very large Vault installations, the upgrade may take several hours.



Vault 5.0 does not support Dragnet integration. Users requiring integrated work item tracking should investigate SourceGear Fortress. Fortress is an integrated solution for application lifecycle management (ALM), including work item tracking and work item clients integrated into Visual Studio and Eclipse.



Vault 5.0 is not backwards compatible with previous versions of Vault. In essence, Vault 5.0.x clients will only interact with Vault 5.0.x servers and vice versa. Vault 2.x, 3.x, and 4.x clients and servers are not compatible with Vault 5.0 clients and servers.



For details on Vault licensing, including upgrade policies and demo keys, please see the Licensing FAQ


Known issues:

Important note when upgrading from the 4.0.6 release: There was a bug in the uninstall routine for the 4.0.6 for users who installed the server and the client together using the server's installer. Upgrading in that situation will succeed, but leave two client shortcuts on the desktop. Please follow the instructions at support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?t=9653 for instructions on removing the 4.0.6 server and client before upgrading.



When using the VS Enhanced Client's "Open From Vault" functionality in Visual Studio 2008, you will not be able to open solutions that have not yet been upgraded by Visual Studio to the Visual Studio 2008 format.


What's New Since Vault 5.0.2:

Visual Studio Enhanced Client

* Changed the Undo Checkout operation for files that are Checked Out from within Pending Changes to behave in the same manner as Undo Checkout from Solution Explorer
* Fixed problem where Vault dialogs would move down or across a display when the Windows Taskbar was positioned at the top or left of the display.
* Deleting a linked file from a project no longer deletes the linked file from disk
* Open From Vault for a solution containing Solution Folders which map to physical directories now retrieves all files located in those directories
* %VAULT_EXE_DIR% variable for Diff and Merge programs now resolves correctly on Windows 7

Client

* Changed the Undo Checkout operation for files that are Checked Out from within Pending Changes to behave in the same manner as Undo Checkout from the File View
* Fixed problem where Vault dialogs would move down or across a display when the Windows Taskbar was positioned at the top or left of the display.
* Addressed array boundary error when viewing Line History of files added through VSS Handoff
* The Vault Client will re-select previously selected items in the search results when the client regains focus and executes a new status search


Web Admin Client

* Fixed problems encountered when restoring a database backup
* Can now use '<', '>', '&,' and other characters for Keyword Expansion comments.

WebDAV

* Performance improvements for many file operations.

Client/Server Version Compatibility

It is always recommended that your client and server versions match exactly (e.g., a 5.0.3 client should be connecting to a 5.0.3 server). 5.0.x clients are able to communicate with any 5.0.x server, but specific bug fixes will not work correctly if they required both client and server changes. 5.0.x clients and servers are not compatible with 1.x, 2.x, 3.x or 4.x clients and servers.


Upgrading From Previous Versions

It is recommended that you backup your Vault database prior to an upgrade. This can be done from either the Vault Admin tool, or the SQL Enterprise Manager tool.



To upgrade from a previous installation of Vault, simply invoke the new installer, and choose the same options that were selected when Vault was previously installed. Program files and configuration settings will be automatically updated to reflect the upgrade. Note that the server installation will not delete your database unless you explicitly tell it to.



You may also safely uninstall Vault first, and then install the upgrade. As with installation, an uninstall will not delete your database unless you explicitly tell it to.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

Return to Knowledge Base (Vault)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest