Vault 5.1.2 Release Notes

A collection of information about Vault, including solutions to common problems.

Moderator: SourceGear


Posts: 8418
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:47 am
SourceGear Vault 5.1.2 is a maintenance release for Vault 5.1.

Installation Notes

Please ensure you have a verified backup of your database before upgrading, and upgrade at a time when it is convenient to not have access to the server. On very large Vault installations, the upgrade may take several hours.

Vault 5.1 does not support Dragnet integration. Users requiring integrated work item tracking should investigate SourceGear Vault Professional. Vault Professional is an integrated solution for application lifecycle management (ALM), including work item tracking and work item clients integrated into Visual Studio and Eclipse.

Vault 5.1 is not backwards compatible with previous versions of Vault. In essence, Vault 5.1.x clients will only interact with Vault 5.1.x servers and vice versa. Vault 2.x, 3.x, and 4.x clients and servers are not compatible with Vault 5.1 clients and servers.

For details on Vault licensing, including upgrade policies and demo keys, please see the Licensing FAQ.

Known issues:

Important note when upgrading from the 4.0.6 release: There was a bug in the uninstall routine for the 4.0.6 for users who installed the server and the client together using the server's installer. Upgrading in that situation will succeed, but leave two client shortcuts on the desktop. Please follow the instructions at support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?t=9653 for instructions on removing the 4.0.6 server and client before upgrading.

When using the VS Enhanced Client's "Open From Vault" functionality in Visual Studio 2008, you will not be able to open solutions that have not yet been upgraded by Visual Studio to the Visual Studio 2008 format.

What's New Since Vault 5.1:

Vault Server

  • Corrected server's authentication process to eliminate "spgetlogininfo" server log entries.

All Clients

  • Renaming a file in a folder that contains more than 300 other files no longer results in a cache synchronization problem.

GUI client

  • Added an option to use check boxes for selection. GUI clients now can use check boxes to signify selected items in the Pending Change Set, OnTime Defects and Search Tabs, as well as the Commit Pending Changes dialog.

  • Re-added Commit Selected Items to the context menu of the Pending Changes tab.

  • Added keyboard shortcuts for Commit and Diff and to switch context view within the Pending Changes tab.

  • Added keyboard shortcuts for Diff, Keep files checked out, Remove Local Copy and other work item related behaviors within the Commit Pending Changes dialog.

  • Corrected tab order in several sections of Vault Options.

  • Change Set Version Details dialog now retains column sizing information.

  • Proxy settings may now be configured without a valid server connection.

Visual Studio Enhanced Client

  • Exclude from Project within Visual Studio now prompts before deleting any file from disk.

Eclipse / Java CLC

  • Corrected Auto-merge functionality to not place byte order mark (BOM) at the beginning of any file which previously did not contain a BOM.

Folder Export / Import

  • Fixed problem in Folder Export when a folder containing files with multiple modifications is moved to a new location and subsequent modifications are performed.

Upgrading From Previous Versions

It is recommended that you backup your Vault database prior to an upgrade. This can be done from either the Vault Admin tool, or the SQL Enterprise Manager tool.

To upgrade from a previous installation of Vault, simply invoke the new installer, and choose the same options that were selected when Vault was previously installed. Program files and configuration settings will be automatically updated to reflect the upgrade. Note that the server installation will not delete your database unless you explicitly tell it to.

You may also safely uninstall Vault first, and then install the upgrade. As with installation, an uninstall will not delete your database unless you explicitly tell it to.

If you are upgrading past more than one major release version of Vault, please consult the Upgrading Guide.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Return to Knowledge Base (Vault)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron