Vault 7.0.0 Release Notes

A collection of information about Vault, including solutions to common problems.

Moderator: SourceGear


Posts: 8448
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 3:04 pm
Vault Standard 7.0.0 Release Notes

This release is a major upgrade, and you must purchase new licenses for all of your users. For pricing details, see the Vault pricing page. Once a Vault database has been upgraded to 7.0, it cannot be used with previous versions. If you install 7.0 over an existing database, you must enter new license keys to use the system.

Please ensure you have a verified backup of all your Vault related databases before upgrading, and upgrade at a time when it is convenient to not have access to the server.

Vault 7.0 is not backwards compatible with previous versions of Vault. In essence, Vault 7.0 clients will only interact with Vault 7.0 servers and vice versa. Vault 2.x through Vault 6.x clients and servers are not compatible with Vault 7.0 clients and servers.

For details on Vault licensing, including upgrade policies and demo keys, please see the Licensing FAQ.

What's New Since Vault 6.1.0:

Vault GUI Client

    New Features
  • Repository Explorer, Pending Changes, Messages, Notifications, Find in Files, and Search are now displayed in dockable tabs
  • Copy Label operation creates a copy of an existing file or folder label
  • Repository Explorer's file list now displays the system icon for associated file types
  • Folder Changes Archive operation retrieves files modified between a range of dates and/or labels
  • Merge Branches allows the selection of limited, non-contiguous history ranges
  • Merge Branches can be set to Auto Advance steps requiring no user input
  • Added a Changeset/Changeset Item Comment Template for creating custom Changeset comments for Merge Branches
  • Optimized Working Folder Scan within Merge Branches to omit folders in which no changes occurred for the selected history range
  • Reordered some of the steps in the Merge Branches Wizard for Optimized Working Folder Scan and Auto Advance features

    Fixes
  • Within Merge Branches, Move, Rename, and Delete operations no longer require independent Changesets
  • File names displayed in the Adds, Deletes, and Edits step of the Merge Branches Wizard are sorted
  • Addressed problem within Merge Branches when processing a single file that was renamed and edited in the same historical transaction
  • Expanded the limit of characters used for Merge Branches comments
  • Diffing files from within Merge Branches Wizard now works
  • Addressed issue where Merge Branches fell back to default EOL of "\r\n"
  • Merge Branches Wizard retains its location and size
  • An edit and save of a Changeset Item's comment displays correct comment data
  • Labels applied before the branch point of an object no longer appear in history
  • Messages Tab now displays "*" to indicate new messages
  • Resolved issue where the Toolbar would remain disabled after clicking different files within the file list
  • Find Shelve Sets for all users now includes inactive users

Vault Visual Studio Enhanced Client

    Fixes
  • Require Exclusive Locks for checked out items is now controlled by the Admin option
  • Files Excluded from a Visual Studio project are subject to the user option for Perform file deletes in working folder
  • Invoking Exclude From a C++ Project no longer reports "File is already checked out"
  • Diff can now be invoked from the Checkin and Commit dialogs
  • Find Shelve Sets for all users now includes inactive users

Vault Visual Studio Classic Client

    New Features
  • Increased comment length limit to 32767 characters

Vault Command Line Client

    New Features
  • Create a copy of a label using LABELCOPY
  • Get files modified between a range of dates and/or labels using CREATEFOLDERCHANGESARCHIVE

Vault Server

    New Features
  • Auto Rebind supports Visual Studio 2012 and Visual Studio 2013 Projects and Solutions
  • Source Code Control Reports: Last Activity, Label Contents, Checked Out Items, Repository Access, Repositories without Folder Security, and Folder Security

Vault Index Server

    Fixes
  • Index Service no longer stops processing if a file cannot be opened

Vault Notification Server

    Fixes
  • Notification Server more aggressively purges expired data stored within the database
  • Added additional Debug logging to the Notification Server
  • Notification Server no longer logs erroneous, "Could not verify if folder security is enabled on repository -1" message
  • If SMTP is configured in the Vault Server, Notification Server will now correctly include SMTP authentication headers

Vault Server Installer

    Fixes
  • Admin passwords may now contain additional characters (&, <, >, or ; )

VSS Import Tool

    Fixes
  • VSS Import's log file now created in the user's TEMP directory


Client/Server Version Compatibility

It is always recommended that your client and server versions match exactly (e.g., a 7.0 Vault Professional client should be connecting to a 7.0 Professional server). 7.0.x clients are able to communicate with any 7.0.x server within the same edition, but specific bug fixes may not work correctly if they required both client and server changes.

Previous versions of Vault clients and servers are not compatible with 7.0 clients and servers. Vault Professional clients and servers are not compatible with Vault Standard clients and servers.

Upgrading From Previous Versions

It is recommended that you backup your Vault databases prior to an upgrade. This can be done from either the Web Admin tool, or SQL Server Enterprise Management Studio.

To upgrade from a previous installation of Vault, simply invoke the new installer, and choose the same options that were selected when it was previously installed. Program files and configuration settings should be automatically updated to reflect the upgrade. Note that the server installation will not delete your databases unless you explicitly tell it to.

You may also safely uninstall Vault first, and then install Vault 7.0. As with the Vault Server installation, an uninstall will not delete your database unless you explicitly tell it to.

If you are upgrading past more than one major release version of Vault, please consult the Upgrading Guide.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Return to Knowledge Base (Vault)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron