Using a SQL account to connect to remote SQL server

This forum is now locked, since Gold Support is no longer offered.

Moderator: SourceGear


Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 12:56 pm
PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 7:29 pm
Is it possible? The install guide does not mention it, just using a domain account.
http://www.sourcegear.com/vault/support/install3.html

Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 7:54 am
Do you mean remote, as in over Ihe internet, rather than on the same LAN?
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 12:56 pm
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 10:47 am
on the same lan, sorry

Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 3:23 pm
Yes, the Vault server can connect to a SQL Server on the same LAN. If you want to use Windows authentication for SQL Server, you would need to create a custom (domain) account that has access to the SQL Server machine. and use that account for the IIS Process Model portion of the installation.

Or, you can use SQL Server authentication for the SQL Server setup portion of the installation. This creates the sgvaultuser account that Vault will use to communicate with the SQL Server database.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

Return to Gold Support (Vault) -- Read-only

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests

cron