runtime errors

This forum is now locked, since Gold Support is no longer offered.

Moderator: SourceGear

JonShrout
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:43 am

runtime errors

Post by JonShrout » Tue May 02, 2006 10:17 am

I've installed the Vault Client on the server and I'm getting a fatal error when I try to start the Vault Client (please see attached).
Attachments
fatal.JPG
Two error messages received when trying to run Vault Client
fatal.JPG (21.38 KiB) Viewed 8249 times

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by lbauer » Tue May 02, 2006 11:31 am

What version of Vault are you installing?

Is this on the Vault Server machine? Was the client installed as part of the Vault server installation or as a separate install?

What operating system is on the machine? Does this machine have 64-bit hardware with a 64-bit operating system?

What version(s) of the .NET Framework are on the machine?
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

JonShrout
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:43 am

runtime errors

Post by JonShrout » Tue May 02, 2006 12:21 pm

Sorry about the lack of details.

I am installing Vault 3.1.6 on the server machine.

The client was installed as a separate install.

The machine is a 32-bit machine with a 32-bit version of Windows Server 2003 Standard.

The machine has .NET Framework versions 1.0, 1.1, and 2.0.

I am local admin on the machine.

TIA

JonShrout
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:43 am

runtime errors

Post by JonShrout » Fri May 05, 2006 12:06 pm

Any developments on this topic?

dan
Posts: 2448
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2003 5:03 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by dan » Fri May 05, 2006 12:26 pm

It looks like a configuration problem of some sort. Some other questions:

1. Are you able to run the Admin Client?
2. Are you able to bring up a Vault client on other machines, and connect to this Vault server?
3. You might try intentionally loading it with different .net frameworks. See http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?t=4354 for how to do that.
4. Also try turning on client logging, and see whether it gets to the point where it logs anything: http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?t=1534

JonShrout
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:43 am

Post by JonShrout » Mon May 08, 2006 2:18 pm

1. Are you able to run the Admin Client?
I am able to run the Admin Client. It is installed (and runs) on both my local machine and on the server.
2. Are you able to bring up a Vault client on other machines, and connect to this Vault server?
Yes. It is installed on 13 machines connecting to this server.
3. You might try intentionally loading it with different .net frameworks. See http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?t=4354 for how to do that.
This didn't do anything for me.
4. Also try turning on client logging, and see whether it gets to the point where it logs anything: http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?t=1534
It doesn't log anything. I don't believe it's making it far along enough.

I tried doing a repair install but got the same error message after the files had been re-installed.

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by lbauer » Tue May 09, 2006 9:00 am

Anything useful in the Windows Event viewer when the client crashes?
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

JonShrout
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:43 am

runtime errors

Post by JonShrout » Wed May 10, 2006 6:50 am

Anything useful in the Windows Event viewer when the client crashes?
There are no entries made to the Application event log when the client crashes.

Jon

dan
Posts: 2448
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2003 5:03 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by dan » Wed May 10, 2006 7:57 am

This is probably something to do with the .Net Framework. Try the following:

1. Completely uninstall the Vault client
2. Manually delete HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SourceGear\Vault Client.
3. Manually delete your local cache at C:\Documents and Settings\[username]\Local Settings\Application Data\SourceGear
4. Re-install the Vault client
5. Uninstall then re-install the 1.1 Framework.

JonShrout
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:43 am

runtime errors

Post by JonShrout » Thu May 11, 2006 6:15 am

After trying everything recommended with no results, I attempted to uninstall Vault Server (so that I could re-install it) but I received the attached error message when trying to uninstall.
Attachments
installer_03.JPG
Error message received when trying to uninstall Vault Server.
installer_03.JPG (12.14 KiB) Viewed 8110 times

mskrobul
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 10:22 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by mskrobul » Thu May 11, 2006 12:06 pm

Does the server still work or did it get uninstalled? If you are going to continue to try to uninstall the server, make sure you do a backup of your database first.

I am not sure if this has anything to do with what you are seeing or not, but there was an issue in the .NET 1.1 framework where the framework on windows 2003 would throw a fatal execution error. If you don't have the latest service pack of the 1.1 frameworkk, you may try that.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/885055/

(list of bug fixed)
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/824210/

(fatal execution error bug)
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=867460

If that doesn't fix the client problem and you want to continue trying to uninstall the server:

Is the server still listed under add/remove programs after the failed uninstall?

Are you logged in as the same user who did the initial install? If not, try logging in as that user that and see if the uninstall works. Also, see if there are any errors logged to the vault_uninstall.log file located in your temp (%temp%) directory.

If the server is listed, try the uninstall again. If you get as far as the Connect To Database dialog, cancel out of that dialog. It will ask you if you want to continue uninstalling (choose yes). See if you still get the error.

If it isn't listed, or you continue to get the errors, you may need to manually uninstall the server.
http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?t=310
Mary Jo Skrobul
SourceGear

JonShrout
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:43 am

runtime errors

Post by JonShrout » Fri May 12, 2006 12:02 pm

Does the server still work or did it get uninstalled? If you are going to continue to try to uninstall the server, make sure you do a backup of your database first.
The server did not get uninstalled and it did still work.
Is the server still listed under add/remove programs after the failed uninstall?
It was.
Are you logged in as the same user who did the initial install? If not, try logging in as that user that and see if the uninstall works. Also, see if there are any errors logged to the vault_uninstall.log file located in your temp (%temp%) directory.
I was logged in as the same user who did the initial install. There were no errors logged to the log file.
If the server is listed, try the uninstall again. If you get as far as the Connect To Database dialog, cancel out of that dialog. It will ask you if you want to continue uninstalling (choose yes). See if you still get the error.
I never got as far as the Connect To Database dialog.
If it isn't listed, or you continue to get the errors, you may need to manually uninstall the server.
I did the manual uninstall and I'm still getting the Fatal Execution Engine error when I try to re-install.

I'm pretty much 'dead in the water' at this point.

Is there anything else to try?

Jon

mskrobul
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 10:22 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by mskrobul » Fri May 12, 2006 12:31 pm

What service pack of the 1.1 framework do you have? Did you try upgrading to the latest service pack of the 1.1 framework?
Mary Jo Skrobul
SourceGear

JonShrout
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:43 am

runtime errors

Post by JonShrout » Fri May 12, 2006 12:50 pm

We have the latest service pack and I've just done a repair on the 2.0 framework.

Jon

mskrobul
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 10:22 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by mskrobul » Fri May 12, 2006 1:23 pm

Do you have any other .NET applications on that machine that are working?

I don't think any one else has reported this type of error. There is something not right with that machine, but I am not sure what it is.

Since you just repaired the 2.0 framework, if you run aspnet_regiis -i from the 2.0 framework directory(%windir%\Microsoft.NET\Framework\version\) then try to re-install do you still get the error?

If that doesn't work, you could try repairing the 1.1. framework on that machine as described in the following KB article and then trying to re-install.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/830646
Mary Jo Skrobul
SourceGear

Locked