Failed to establish a connection to the database...

This forum is now locked, since Gold Support is no longer offered.

Moderator: SourceGear

jschuit
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 10:16 am

Post by jschuit » Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:36 pm

So far no exceptions... but I won't be confident until it has been running this way for at least a week. Did those logs I sent you help?

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by Beth » Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:05 pm

Yes. If you have problems again, I'd like to see an updated log so I can compare.

jschuit
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 10:16 am

Post by jschuit » Wed Oct 24, 2007 1:33 am

There was an OutOfMemoryException thrown this morning, sorry I didn't notice it till now as Vault seemed to have recovered from it without any noticeable side-effects. I've emailed the log to support at your attention Beth. Please let me know what you find/think.

Thanks.

jclausius
Posts: 3655
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:34 pm

John:

I haven't followed up with Beth, but we may need to make some modifications to ASP.NET's memory model.

If you're still on Vault 3.1.x, this will probably slow things down, but it will hopefully eliminate the memory issues.

Let's start with the first question. What OS are you using for the Vault Server?
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

jschuit
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 10:16 am

Post by jschuit » Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:37 pm

Windows 2003 server... Everytime it goes down, I do notice that w3wp.exe is always around 1GB...

(btw, we have scheduled an update to 4.x this weekend and are also moving sql off the Vault server and onto it's own)
Last edited by jschuit on Fri Nov 02, 2007 8:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

jclausius
Posts: 3655
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:08 pm

OK. I hadn't realized you were going to make the change. If you note, the Vault App Pool's memory tab within IIS' administrative tool there is a memory node. What settings do you have configured within there.

In essence, for settings on the new server, bump up any memory related values so more memory will be available to the ASP.NET process.
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

jschuit
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 10:16 am

Post by jschuit » Thu Nov 01, 2007 5:24 pm

Jeff, I can't find the memory tab... the closest I see in the app pool is the setting for memory recycling.. is this what you are referring to?
If so, both the options in that section (max virtual and max used) are disabled.

jclausius
Posts: 3655
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Fri Nov 02, 2007 9:10 am

The check boxes control the numeric entries, but what are the values inside those disabled boxes? Does the number there correspond to when the you are seeing the out of memory errors? It might be worthwhile to explore increasing the recycling values to see if we can get ASP.NET to accommodate your repositories.
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

jschuit
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 10:16 am

Post by jschuit » Fri Nov 02, 2007 9:16 am

The grayed-out vaules were 500MB for virtual memory, and something around 170ishMB for used memory. I already enabled recycling for used memory last night and set it to 800MB as it always seemed to blow it's mind over 900MB. It recycled twice that night, but not yet today.

jclausius
Posts: 3655
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Fri Nov 02, 2007 9:24 am

If the box has enough memory, then you should be OK going with a much larger value as a ASP.NET process in 32-bit world seems as if it can get to around 1.7 to 1.8 GB of the theoretical 2GB until it starts complaining about memory.

Do you have multiple, large repositories? Since all caching sits in one address space, another option available in the later versions of Vault is to split work-loads for repositories across multiple Vault servers.
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

jschuit
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 10:16 am

Post by jschuit » Fri Nov 02, 2007 9:28 am

I'm not sure about increasing memory size... as I said, it always threw the out of memory exception when that process was between 900MB and 1GB. The server has 4GB and SQL is using ~2GB.


No, we are only using one repository (~55 - 60GB).
Last edited by jschuit on Fri Nov 02, 2007 9:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

jclausius
Posts: 3655
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Fri Nov 02, 2007 9:37 am

If the machine has 2+ GB of memory, then let's try to increase the recycling thresholds.
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

Locked