VaultServer 4.1.0 Install

This forum is now locked, since Gold Support is no longer offered.

Moderator: SourceGear

Locked
chris.bradley
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 6:17 pm

VaultServer 4.1.0 Install

Post by chris.bradley » Wed Mar 19, 2008 9:05 am

I think the default webpage for the Admin folder might be screwed up on the Server Install. The shortcut it creates points to http://myVaultServer/vaultservice/admin but there is no default webpage setup on that guy. I've attached a screen snap of the "default documents" for that folder.

I think that this folder should also include default.aspx so that it automatically sends me to the login page.
Attachments
adminSetup.jpg
adminSetup.jpg (47.37 KiB) Viewed 5867 times

mskrobul
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 10:22 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by mskrobul » Wed Mar 19, 2008 9:39 am

IIS typically has Default.aspx already listed if you have ASPNET enabled (just like it has typically has index.htm and default.htm and such listed as default pages). This has been the case on every machine we have ever tested.

What OS is Vault installed on? What version of IIS are you using? Is ASPNET enabled in IIS? The following KB articles should cover ASPNET enabling issues for most platforms.

http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?t=22
http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?t=185
http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?p=39890

If you add Default.aspx to that list, then you should be redirected, but you will want to make sure that ASPNET is enabled or Vault won't work.
Mary Jo Skrobul
SourceGear

mskrobul
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 10:22 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by mskrobul » Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:45 am

I have just been informed that older versions of the installer would remove some of the default page values on uninstall :oops: , so if you had an older version of Vault installed that explains your issue.

The newer installers do not do that, so it should no longer be a problem after the defaults are restored.

I will log the problem.

Thanks!
Mary Jo Skrobul
SourceGear

chris.bradley
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 6:17 pm

Post by chris.bradley » Wed Mar 19, 2008 2:02 pm

We did have ASPNET installed. Once I added Default.aspx it worked fine, and its's possible that the machine had default.aspx removed - it just caused a bit of confusion this morning when I had to troubleshoot why I couldn't get onto the admin webpage.

Chris

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by lbauer » Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:49 am

Thanks for the update.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

Locked