Users and Groups

If you are having a problem using Dragnet, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear


Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 11:59 am
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:08 pm
We have a number of projects and I want to be able to give QA people access to all projects. I created a named "QA", set the Project for this group to "All Projects" and put the QA users in the group. When a QA user logs in, they get the message "There are no groups available".

Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 7:42 am
What version of Vault are you using?

Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 11:59 am
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 9:30 am
We are using Vault 3.5.2 and Dragnet 1.0.7. How would Vault affect the operation of Dragnet? It is in Dragnet that I'm trying to setup the groups.

Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:34 am
Sorry about that. I was thinking integration.

After you create the group and add users to that group, then you need to go to each project and go to the Projects Admin tab and click the Security link on the right. Scroll down to where it lists groups and add your group to the Allow side for each project.

Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 11:59 am
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 11:35 am
Thanks. We have 50+ projects. Going into each one and adding the group is going to be a pain. Is there no way to manage this from the group perspective rather than the project perspective? When I create the group and link it to "All Projects" what does that do?

Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 1:58 pm
When you are creating your own group, you are actually only creating the group but not setting the permissions for that group. The only groups that have permissions already set are the default groups (Developer and Admin). Custom groups have to have custom permissions.

Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 2:53 pm
Also, how this works will be changing in Fortress. It will be more intuitive.

Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 11:59 am
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 4:33 pm
When you make the improvements in Fortress, will they also find their way back into Dragnet? Is there are new release of Dragnet expected anytime soon? I've read some posts hinting at upcoming announcements, but those dates have long since passed.

Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 4:46 pm
There is going to be a Dragnet update, but it won't have the security changes. After that one I'm not sure.

Return to Support (Dragnet)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron