Inconsitencies in the validation of the Commit dialog

If you are having a problem using Fortress, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
dist0rti0n
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Birmingham, AL

Inconsitencies in the validation of the Commit dialog

Post by dist0rti0n » Sat Dec 22, 2007 1:59 pm

1) Set your repository to require check-in comments
2) Make some changes to your solution, check-in
3) Next to Update Bugs, click Browse
4) Select a Fortress item, leave the option checked to Add checkin comment as Item comment
5) Check in

Scenario 2:

1) Make some changes to your solution, check-in
2) Next to Update Bugs, manually type an item number (do not browse)
3) Select a Fortress item, leave the option checked to Add checkin comment as Item comment
4) Check in
5) Oh No! You get the "Check in comments are required for this repository" validation message.
<a href="http://www.vertagen.com">Vertagen Solutions</a>

jclausius
Posts: 3655
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Wed Dec 26, 2007 8:03 am

A check-in comment ( or change set comment ) is a comment associated with the transaction. In the commit dialog, there is a place for this type of comment. When this text box is left blank, the repository is set to require check-in comments, and the user clicks to commit, a comment must be provided for the change set or one of the change set items for the transaction to succeed.

Now, the "browse" for bugs dialog happens to pre-fill the change set's comment with the bug description, thus providing data in the comment's text box. That explains scenario #1.

In scenario #2, did you provide a comment to the change set? If not, then you will need to provide data here in order to commit the transaction.
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

dist0rti0n
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Birmingham, AL

Post by dist0rti0n » Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:38 am

I didn't provide a check in comment for scenario 2, but I did manually type in the Bug Id, so you would assume that Fortress would look up the Bug and provide its description as the checkin comment, the same way it does in scenario 1 when you browse for it.

Also, in scenario 1, while the bug description may be provided as the checkin comment, there's no visual cue for this other than the Bug Id being shown on the dialog.

Make sense?
<a href="http://www.vertagen.com">Vertagen Solutions</a>

jclausius
Posts: 3655
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:02 am

In the current design, a comment of the work item description is only pre-filled when browse for bugs is invoked.

There are other implications that Fortress does not pre-fill a comment just upon typing a bug ID number, and committing the change set.
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

dist0rti0n
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Birmingham, AL

Post by dist0rti0n » Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:11 am

Yeah, but why not? If I type the Bug number isn't that the same as browsing for it?
<a href="http://www.vertagen.com">Vertagen Solutions</a>

jclausius
Posts: 3655
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:29 am

As mentioned, there are other items to consider... What if the bug is invalid? What if there is a list? What if the user doesn't use item comments in this manner?

If you like, I can log a feature request, and if more people get on board we can log their requests as well.
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

dist0rti0n
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Birmingham, AL

Post by dist0rti0n » Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:52 am

I think I'd like to log a feature request that the Bug Ids be manually typed in, validated, and that you can provide a comma or space delimited list of Bug Ids that will be validated as well.

Thanks!
<a href="http://www.vertagen.com">Vertagen Solutions</a>

dist0rti0n
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Birmingham, AL

Post by dist0rti0n » Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:27 am

Also, in scenario 1, while the bug description may be provided as the checkin comment, there's no visual cue for this other than the Bug Id being shown on the dialog.
Thats actually not true, I noticed that it does in fact fill in the item description in the comment box.

My mistake!
<a href="http://www.vertagen.com">Vertagen Solutions</a>

Post Reply