Context menu problem on 64-bit Windows

Support for our DiffMerge utility.

Moderator: SourceGear


Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 2:45 am
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 2:57 am
Hello,

There are some problems with DiffMerge context menu if it is invoked under Total Commander. In fact, DiffMerge context menu subitems aren't shown at all. The "DiffMerge" menu itself is visible and can be accessed via Total Commander "X64" menu. Can it be fixed? This small bug slows down the work on x64 very much.

Thanks in advance,
Ian

Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:37 am
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:28 am
This is a known problem. The problem is that Windows is 64 bit and
we need to install and use a 64 bit shell extension DLL so that Windows
Explorer can use it. But Total Commander is 32 bit and it can't use the
64 bit extension.

I have a 32 bit version, but it is only installed on 32 bit machines.

I need to update the extension so that they both can be installed at
the same time.

Sorry for the inconvenience.
jeff

Item: 15288

Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:06 am
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:13 am
Hello,

There is another topic about this (viewtopic.php?f=33&t=13203&p=55200&hilit=context+menu+total+commander#p55200).
But I post on this because the date is newer.

I think if the 32bit and 64bit extensions would have different GUID, both could be installed, and the restriction from the 32bit DLL should be removed (I'm almost sure that the restriction is in your code).

I'm sure that they can both exists because I've worked on a COM dll that had 32bit and 64bit version and they coexisted.

Thank you!

Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:37 am
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:55 am
thanks for the note.

this will all be fixed with the 3.3.1 release later this month.
i have both 32- and 64-bit versions of the EXE, DLL, and MSI.

i've also changed the GUIDs so that both the 32- and 64-bit
DLLs may be installed at the same time. (and have it set so
that the 64-bit MSI will install BOTH automatically.)

jeff

(and yes, the DLL restrictions in the 3.3.0 version were in my code.)

Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:06 am
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:27 pm
Thank you for answering.
I am eager to the download the new version.

Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:37 am
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2011 6:29 am
Fixed in 3.3.1:

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=16832

jeff hostetler

Return to Support (DiffMerge)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron