bug or feature?

Support for our DiffMerge utility.

Moderator: SourceGear


Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 4:08 am
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 4:21 am
I have just starting using the program and found pretty strange (and sort of annoying) feature: it blocks all non-English letters when in editing mode. I see no valid reasons for that. Could you please explain that or at least answer the question in subject line.
Thank you

Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:27 am
What specific language are you using? I ran a quick test and am not having a problem so far, but I just might not be using the same characters.

Are the characters you are using able to be placed into Notepad?
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 4:08 am
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:44 am
The specific language is Russian. It can be typed in notepad. Notepad doesn't block anything at all.

Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:37 am
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 3:19 pm
bug.

You should be able to type in DiffMerge just like Notepad.
Can you enter English/ASCII characters in the DiffMerge window?

Can you paste Russian text from Notepad into DiffMerge?

What platform are you on? Since you said Notepad, I'm assuming
Windows, but what version?

Are your source files encoded in UNICODE, in a Code Page, or in one of
the ISO-8859-x standards?
When you load Russian files into the window, what character encoding
is listed in the status bar at the bottom of the window?

thanks
jeff

Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 4:08 am
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 4:28 pm
jeffhostetler wrote:You should be able to type in DiffMerge just like Notepad.

I think so too.
jeffhostetler wrote:Can you enter English/ASCII characters in the DiffMerge window?

Yes, I can.
jeffhostetler wrote:Can you paste Russian text from Notepad into DiffMerge?

Yes, I can.
jeffhostetler wrote:What platform are you on? Since you said Notepad, I'm assuming
Windows, but what version?

Vista SP2 Business.
jeffhostetler wrote:Are your source files encoded in UNICODE, in a Code Page, or in one of
the ISO-8859-x standards?

My source files are normal C++ files, that, exactly speaking, are not mine, so I am not absolutlely sure, but I believe that they don't contain any non-English letters. They are ANSI. The Diffmerge says that they are ISO-8859-1.
jeffhostetler wrote:When you load Russian files into the window, what character encoding
is listed in the status bar at the bottom of the window?

the word "default" is listed.

Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:37 am
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 7:22 am
I've confirmed that the problem happens on XP and Win7.
I'll have to log this this and then do some investigation.

jeff

item:15628

Return to Support (DiffMerge)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests