Problem launching DiffMerge using "git mergetool"

Support for our DiffMerge utility.

Moderator: SourceGear


Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:02 am
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 12:05 pm
When on windows, I am launching command "git mergetool", in order to resolve merge conflict, I am getting error as per attached screenshot - please help!

Note: when I do "git merge" (not using DiffMerge) - things appear normal!

Following is my .gitconfig file:
[user]
name = Bibhash Roy
email = bibhash@whitepeaksoft.com

[core]
editor = 'c:/program files/sublime text 3/subl.exe' -w
autocrlf = false
[diff]
tool = diffmerge
[difftool "diffmerge"]
cmd = F:/Bibhash/Programs/DiffMerge_4_2_0_697_stable_x64/sgdm.exe \"$LOCAL\" \"$REMOTE\"
[merge]
tool = diffmerge
[mergetool "diffmerge"]
trustExitCode = true
cmd = F:/Bibhash/Programs/DiffMerge_4_2_0_697_stable_x64/sgdm.exe /merge /result=\"$MERGED\" \"$LOCAL\" \"$BASE\" \"$REMOTE\"
[difftool]
prompt = false
Attachments
diffmerge-merge-error.png
diffmerge-merge-error.png (20.51 KiB) Viewed 2431 times

Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:02 am
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 12:33 pm
I reinstalled diffmerge using msi installer (earlier used the zipped version) - the problem remains same.

Posts: 8360
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 4:13 pm
Sorry I don't have a response yet. I'm getting a test setup to try this as well. I'm not sure why Git is passing the path as .\filename.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Posts: 8360
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 4:31 pm
It took a while to figure this one out.

In your .git config, in the line that configures the merge tool, change /merge and /result to -merge and -result. Don't change anything about the lines relating to the diff tool, just merge.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Return to Support (DiffMerge)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron