DiffMerge Clears the clipboard when closing.

Support for our DiffMerge utility.

Moderator: SourceGear


Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 2:51 pm
Location: Wauseon, OH
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:44 am
It appears that diffmerge clears the clipboard when it closes. I believe it shouldn't (or that it should be an option).

For example: In VS2005. I make a change. Then realize that I deleted something that I need. So I do a show differences. It displays the repository version, I do a copy on the needed code. Close DiffMerge and then try to paste. There is nothing in the clipboard.

If I paste before closing diffmerge, it works fine.

Is this something that could be changed in a future version?

Thanks,
Lynn Roth
Interactive Financial Solutions, Inc.

Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 9:03 am
I'm not sure of the rationale for clearing the clipboard, but I can certainly log a feature request for this.

Thanks for the suggestion.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 10:53 am
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 10:57 am
I just want to second that request. I often run into this, since I never remember to keep DiffMerge open before pasting what I needed.

When checking in I often need some strings from the Files I've changed for the check in comment, and just diffing the Files is the fastest Way to get to the appropriate line(s) in the file(s).

Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:37 am
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 11:07 am
hopefully, i can get this into the next release.

thanks for the vote,
j

Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 5:53 am
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:59 am
I was just about to post a request, then found this thread. Please add my vote, leaving the diff window open means more mouse clicks.

Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:37 am
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:04 am
This has been fixed in the new 3.1 release that shipped last week.

Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 5:53 am
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:13 am
Well I'm running Vault 4.0.4.15848 and I still get the problem. Is it a different DiffMerge? Should I report it in another forum?

Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:37 am
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:33 am
Sorry, I didn't know which version you had.

The version bundled with 4.0.4 is equivalent to the standalone 3.0.2 version
which still has the problem. The 3.1 standalone version has the fix.
If you want, you can grab a free copy of the new 3.1 version from the
<a href="http://www.sourcegear.com/diffmerge/index.html">DiffMerge</a> website and then tell Vault to use the standalone version
rather than the bundled version.

Yes, I know this is all kinda confusing.
Sorry,
j

Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 5:53 am
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:17 pm
Great, that seems to work fine - I appreciate your help.

Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 8:38 am
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 8:56 am
jeffhostetler wrote:Sorry, I didn't know which version you had.

The version bundled with 4.0.4 is equivalent to the standalone 3.0.2 version
which still has the problem. The 3.1 standalone version has the fix.
If you want, you can grab a free copy of the new 3.1 version from the
<a href="http://www.sourcegear.com/diffmerge/index.html">DiffMerge</a> website and then tell Vault to use the standalone version
rather than the bundled version.

Yes, I know this is all kinda confusing.
Sorry,
j


The bundled version of 4.0.6 appears to have the same problem. Will it be fixed in the 4.1 version ?

Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:37 am
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:56 am
Yes, it should be fixed in the 4.1 version.

sorry for the confusion/delay.
jeff

Return to Support (DiffMerge)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest