External Submission Failure

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 9:13 am
Location: Surrey, UK
PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:34 am
Hi there

Using
https://########.####/VaultPro/External/AddItemExternal.aspx?pid=###

Is failing for me.
It works fine if the user is already signed in.
But not if a public user.

Error Image
2017-10-23.png


Vault Professional server is version 10.0.0.30736

Any ideas?

Thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Posts: 8427
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:22 pm
Ignore the first response. I misread.

Check the Vault Server Log for errors at the time you tried to access the AddExternalItem. Any errors?

Can you try a different browser? What are the results there?

What happens if you try the URL right on the server?
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 9:13 am
Location: Surrey, UK
PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2017 1:49 pm
I set the logs to debug, but it would appear the setting is not changing

From the vaultpro.log

2017-10-23 20:47:57.676 Starting SourceGear Dragnet by SourceGear, LLC - Version 10.0.1.30793 Copyright © 2003-2017 SourceGear, LLC All rights reserved.
2017-10-23 20:47:57.676 Configured Options: : LogLevel - Quiet LogReverseDNSLookup - True
2017-10-23 20:47:58.098 116.155.137.217.static.virginmediabusiness.co.uk (217.137.155.116)- : Helpers::ListVaultRepositories Session is no longer valid. Either the server restarted, or your session timed out. You may need to login again to re-authenticate. at MantisServiceLib.Helpers.GetCurrUIDAndUpdateSession(HttpSessionState hss) at MantisServiceLib.Helpers.ListVaultRepositories(List`1& repos)

Using firefox as a client (which does not have any vault user details)

Posts: 8427
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2017 3:20 pm
Are you using SSL certificates on the website?

Can you go to the IIS log files in C:\inetpub\logs and look at the logs for your Vault website? At the end of each line are 3 numbers that say what is happening. The number 200 0 0 means a success. What other series of numbers around the time of the action do you get?

Do you have the external users path set as allowed in web.config in the VaultPro folder of the website? It would look something like.
Code: Select all
<location path="External">
    <system.web>
      <authorization>
        <allow users="*"/>
      </authorization>
    </system.web>
  </location>
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 9:13 am
Location: Surrey, UK
PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:44 am
IIS Logs

2017-10-24 16:37:47 192.168.##.## GET /VaultPro/external/AddItemExternal.aspx - 443 - 217.137.155.116 HTTP/1.1 Mozilla/5.0+(Windows+NT+10.0;+Win64;+x64;+rv:56.0)+Gecko/20100101+Firefox/56.0 https://####.org/VaultPro/external/ ####.org 500 0 0 5333 428 171
2017-10-24 16:37:56 192.168.##.## GET /VaultPro/external/AddItemExternal.aspx pid=114 443 - 217.137.155.116 HTTP/1.1 Mozilla/5.0+(Windows+NT+10.0;+Win64;+x64;+rv:56.0)+Gecko/20100101+Firefox/56.0 - ####.org 500 0 0 5733 379 203

Yes SSL Enabled

And Yes have that section in the web.config

Posts: 8427
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 1:21 pm
Click on the repository name in the Vault admin web page and look at the check boxes again. It was found that you could turn it on, get the link, then turn it off and then the link would give the same kind of error. The check box has to remain checked.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 9:13 am
Location: Surrey, UK
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 2:30 am
reset both buttons

Allow External Submissions
Enable Public Items

still no joy also double checked the PID and I have that correct.

Posts: 8427
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:41 am
Could you send an email to support at sourcegear.com (attn: Beth) with a link to this forum thread?
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 9:13 am
Location: Surrey, UK
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:27 pm
ok to double check that it is not a problem with my install or historical upgrades

I just spun up a new test machine SQL/IIS box.
did a fresh clean install, and the same problem.

any ideas.

i managed to get some slightly deaper debugs and its somewhere crashing around the listrepos bit.
why its listing the repos for projects i'm not sure

Posts: 8427
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:02 pm
I think we found a bug here. I have pulled in the developers on this, and will post back when I know more.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 9:13 am
Location: Surrey, UK
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:24 pm
no worries

if you need anything alpha or beta testing let us know

Posts: 8427
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:37 pm
We think we found the root cause, and will have something soon. We will be testing it internally first. If you send an email to support at sourcegear.com with a link to this thread, I can then send a beta to you when it's ready.

F: 19907
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Return to Support (Vault Professional)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron