How to use Vault w/o binding info in .sln and .proj files?

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.
daflookie

How to use Vault w/o binding info in .sln and .proj files?

Post by daflookie » Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:46 pm

I'm new to Vault, but not source control in general. In other products such as SVN, Git and Mercurial I never had to have binding information stored in the Visual Studio .sln and .vbproj/.csproj file.

Our team of ~15 developers has about 60 sw solutions (mostly 1 solution w/ just 1 project). They have avoided branching like the plague in the past b/c of binding issues, errors, prompts, etc. I'm trying to transition the team out of this and more into feature/release branches so we can manage the code better.

Is there a way with this product to not have binding information embedded in these Visual Studio files? It seems like using a MSSCCPRJ.scc is the way to go, but Vault inconsistently uses it depending on how I open my project, estabslish my working folder, etc (based on my limited testing). I've read some of the MSDN docs on MSSCCPRJ.scc but it's unclear how to *always* use this in Vault instead of embedded bindings.

We are using:
- Vault Professional 5.1.2 (19283)
- Visual Studio 2010 (lots of older projects though that we want upgraded though)
- Vault Professional Classic Client (for Visual Studio)
- The repo is currently configured with exclusive lock & check-in/out (another subject I'm looking to address but first things first)

Thanks for your time.

Steve

Beth

Re: How to use Vault w/o binding info in .sln and .proj file

Post by Beth » Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:52 pm

All that needs to happen is to have the binding information removed and then users can manage their files using the Vault GUI client and edit in Visual Studio.

There are two ways you can accomplish this.

1) Open the solution in Visual Studio.
2) Go to File - Source Control - Change Source Control.