Prevent deletion/renames

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:04 am
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 2:39 am
We use SourceGear to keep a rather complex and quite large collection of files up-to-date, allowing only changes to the collection through SourceGear. Files changed outside SourceGear are simply overwritten. Right now we use shadow folders to do that but are working on a more sophisticated way of doing that. One thing, however, is a bit tricky:

SourceGear keeps track of versioning but if someone deletes a file from the project inside SourceGear, any changes to the outside files are left intact. CHanges are easy to track but deletion and renames less so.

Is it possible in SourceGear to prevent files from being deleted, i.e. distinguish between modify and delete permissions?

There is a similar question here (viewtopic.php?t=22159) suggesting it is not. But I was hoping that this had sneaked in in the meantime :-).
- Thomas Nielsen

Posts: 8451
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 8:47 am
The security rights in Vault are:

R - Read-only
C - Check-out/Check-in (basically modify)
A - Add/Delete/Move/Rename

If you are ok with users only checking out and checking in files, then they can be set to RC rights. But if they need the Add ability or other functions, then they need RCA. It's not possible to separate out only the delete operation.

You can find out which items have been deleted by performing a Show History on a parent folder. Then you can filter the Actions when the filter window appears and select only Delete or other actions you wish to see.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:04 am
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 3:37 am
Beth wrote:You can find out which items have been deleted by performing a Show History on a parent folder. Then you can filter the Actions when the filter window appears and select only Delete or other actions you wish to see.


The problem this causes in this specific scenario is in short this: We get a package from a vendor, and replace modules with custom versions. The custom versions are versioned in SourceGear. When the vendor publishes an update, those files are packaged and custom versions are extracted from SourceGear, overwriting the standard ones. If a file in SourceGear is inadvertently renamed or deleted, the original is not overwritten in the package.

If the content is changed by error we just go back a version. With renames and deletes the workflow is slightly different.

We will put on our thinking hats and figure something out. A separate Delete/Rename permission would just make things much simpler :-).
- Thomas Nielsen

Posts: 8451
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 4:41 pm
You could try something like Adding the new code, then putting a label on it, and then deleting it when the next one comes in.
if have library, create a subdirectory with versions

Or, you might consider separate folders for versions, such as:

Main program
|--- v 1.0
|--- v 2.0
|--- v 2.1

There might be some other options available, but I'm having a hard time visualizing your workflow.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Return to Support (Vault Professional)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron