Vault 7.2 and Vault 10

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.
angelal

Vault 7.2 and Vault 10

Post by angelal » Thu Mar 28, 2019 8:29 am

Hi,

I am new to using vault for corporate use brought into a company to do their release process and to get it defined. I am looking at Either upgrading Vault Professional from 7 to 10 or going with another piece of software.

Keep in mind these questions are based on Version 7.

1st question
What i notice is there are a lot of old project folders that are not being used anymore.

What i like to do is Somehow Archive/Inactivate them so they no longer download for everyone when getting latest. And they are no longer allowed to be worked on. I don't want them to go away necessarily as I don't think my manager would like that. But I need a way to manage them so they aren't a problem for me automating and for it to not be so messy for developers.

2nd Question
When I worked at my last job we had accurev. One of the great features on Accurev was at the time of check in the developer could group files together in a check in ticket form. Some would say that is a changeset maybe in Vault. But the unique thing was I could if wanted to use that ticket to always check in the changes I was making. So I could check in nightly and always apply it to the same ticket as a Developer and then when I was ready I pushed it up to the next branch and it would be 1 ticket that had the collection of changes. In vault it looks if I did that it could be all different changesets. With the 1 ticket form made by the developer during check in the release person would know all the changes that were made for a particular bug or enhancement was contained in that particular ticket

3rd question