Bound & Unbound Projects in Same Solution

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear


Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:13 pm
Location: Oregon
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 11:14 am
I use the Enhanced Client with Visual Studio 2015 and Vault 9.

A major problem I have had with Vault over the years is the inability to have both bound and unbound projects loaded at the same time in the same solution. I'm often forced to unload my unbound projects just to perform Vault operations, which is extremely frustrating. :x

Can something please be done about this? Do you have a feature request areas? I couldn't find one. :?

Posts: 8418
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 12:46 pm
That currently isn't possible with the Vault enhanced client, but you could probably get away with it in the Vault classic client. In the classic client, you wouldn't bind the solution file.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:13 pm
Location: Oregon
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 2:53 pm
Well that's very unfortunate. What are the chances of making this possible in the future? How do we request new features?

This would be very useful when you want to keep your project code synced, but want to work on a related experimental project in the same solution for example.

Posts: 8418
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 3:38 pm
I'm going to have to take back what I said at the moment. One of our developers said he got it working and pointed to this forum thread: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9549. Give that a try and let me know how it works out for you.

Essentially what you will do is unbind the solution file and then unbind the projects you don't want bound.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:13 pm
Location: Oregon
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 7:22 pm
Splendid! That did it. The trick, while making a bit of sense but also not so obvious, was that the solution may only be bound if ALL projects are also bound. That's where I was going wrong; I was trying to bind the solution too.

Perhaps it would help to make it a bit more intuitive though, so as to avoid confusion. Or maybe it's just me? Lol

Thanks for the quick help Beth. You guys are awesome!!! :D :D

Posts: 3480
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:16 am
I agree it can be a bit confusing trying to configure this use case. I'll slip in a blurb in the KB articles. However, binding the solution (and all sub projects) is where the majority of cases lie.
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:13 pm
Location: Oregon
PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 3:28 pm
Awesome Jeff, thanks. Would you kindly post a link to the KB here once you've added the note? I'd like to save a link to it for future use. Thanks! ;)

Posts: 3480
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:26 pm
NP. I added a post to the end of viewtopic.php?f=13&t=11590&p=78777#p78777
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:13 pm
Location: Oregon
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:17 pm
Fantastic! Thank you sir! :D

Posts: 3480
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 8:05 am
You're very welcome. And Thank you for using Vault!
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

Return to Support (Vault)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 9 guests

cron