SourceGear/VSS handoff question

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
MichaelC
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 1:45 pm

SourceGear/VSS handoff question

Post by MichaelC » Fri Nov 22, 2019 3:06 pm

Visual Source Safe does not install on Windows Server 2016. (The setup.exe will not unpack its files to initiate the setup process). So I am wondering if this is feasible:

-Archive my VSS db on Current Server. (Windows Server 2008 R2)
-Use SSRESTORE to restore VSS to the New Server (Windows Server 2016)
-Install SourceGear on the NEW Server.
-Use Handoff to create the SourceGear copy of the last version as well as maintaining the VSS history of all projects.

Can I restore to a server not running Visual Source Safe. I'm guessing that I can since I'm restoring the backend db only but I'm not sure. Similarly, will Handoff preserve a link to the history or would I need a full import?

Thanks very much for any information. I am only a very casual user of SourceGear and was tasked with this issue.

Thanks,
MIke

Tonya
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: SourceGear

Re: SourceGear/VSS handoff question

Post by Tonya » Fri Nov 22, 2019 4:08 pm

Hello,

Before moving forward, I think it would be best to figure out which VSS import you'd like to utilize.

Not sure if you've already seen this but we have a VSS to Vault migration guide available on our website:

http://sourcegear.com/vault/documentati ... yGuide.pdf

We also have a KB article in regards to the different import options we have available with the pros and cons:

viewtopic.php?f=13&t=21598

Once you know which VSS import would best suit your needs, I can provide you with more information.

Thanks,

Tonya

MichaelC
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 1:45 pm

Re: SourceGear/VSS handoff question

Post by MichaelC » Sat Nov 23, 2019 12:17 pm

Hi Tonya,

Thanks for you response. I've used Handoff in he past to connect to a few existing VSS project and have created new ones in SourceGear - all of which went fine.

What I am trying to wrap my head around is whether I can restore a full VSS archive to a new Windows Server 2016 machine on which I am unable to install VSS. This may not be the right place to ask. Logically, the VSS db is just a back end, so as long I have the VSS client installed locally, I think I should be OK. Was just wondering if any SourceGear users had gone this route.

So I will try a full archive and restore to the new machine and if that works, then handoff will be the way to go.

Thanks very much for your reply.

Mike

Tonya
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: SourceGear

Re: SourceGear/VSS handoff question

Post by Tonya » Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:49 am

Hello again,

Yes, unfortunately, this is more of a Microsoft question. Sorry that I could not be more helpful.

Tonya

Post Reply