Moving the vault website

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
pmb88
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 8:38 am

Moving the vault website

Post by pmb88 » Tue Jul 07, 2015 8:48 am

I am using vault 6.1. When it installed it created a website in IIS. We are migrating our websites to MS Server 2012 R2 and I need to move the site vault created. How would I go in doing that?

mskrobul
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 10:22 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Moving the vault website

Post by mskrobul » Tue Jul 07, 2015 9:46 am

The easiest way would be to uninstall and re-install the Vault Server. Make sure to keep your databases when prompted by the uninstaller and the installer. When prompted by Server Installer for a website just choose the new website. That will make any future upgrades and uninstalls smoother.
Mary Jo Skrobul
SourceGear

pmb88
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 8:38 am

Re: Moving the vault website

Post by pmb88 » Tue Jul 07, 2015 11:52 am

Would there be any extra steps like the 4.0 uninstallation here: http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?t=9653

mskrobul
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 10:22 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Moving the vault website

Post by mskrobul » Tue Jul 07, 2015 12:48 pm

There should not be. That was an issue with installer software we no longer use.

You can basically follow the instructions here (except you won't be moving the databases I assume):

http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?t=228

The server installer will create all the necessary app pools, applications and virtual directories and set permissions.
Mary Jo Skrobul
SourceGear

pmb88
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 8:38 am

Re: Moving the vault website

Post by pmb88 » Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:46 pm

Curious, could I just install it on the new server? The old server is going to be shutdown after the migration is over.

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Moving the vault website

Post by Beth » Tue Jul 14, 2015 4:06 pm

You could. If the SQL Server is moving too, then backup the databases, restore them to the new server, and then install. If you do it the other way around, users won't be able to login and the database wouldn't be upgraded.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

pmb88
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 8:38 am

Re: Moving the vault website

Post by pmb88 » Tue Jul 14, 2015 4:31 pm

Beth,

The database is going to stay where it is. Thanks. I wanted to know if there would be issue if I install vault to the new server with out uninstalling it from the old server.

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Moving the vault website

Post by Beth » Wed Jul 15, 2015 8:48 am

It's not a problem, but if you're using the same SQL Server, the old one will no longer function. Also, later when you uninstall, you don't want to allow it to touch the database. When it shows the database connection window, just click Cancel.

If you're not using the same SQL Server, then there is nothing special you need to do. The old one will continue to function with it's SQL Server and the new one will function with its own SQL Server.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Post Reply