Search Complete. 0 results.

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear


Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:01 am
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 7:46 pm
For some unknown reason, the search panel is returning no results. I've tried just about all search combinations and still nothing. I've tried folders that clearly show files that are missing, or clearly show files that require merge. I've tried a separate computer and that has no results. It was working a couple of days ago, so it is very strange.

Any suggestions?
Paul Rony
SplendidCRM Software, Inc.
<a href="http://www.splendidcrm.com">http://www.splendidcrm.com</a>

Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2017 8:35 am
Which version of Vault are you using?
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:01 am
PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2017 10:22 pm
Version 10.0.0.736

This is an extremely annoying issue as I cannot tell if any files or Old, even when I'm certain that they have been edited. It might be important to note that the old files are shared files that were edited in a different project. Version 7 had no problem searching for files of this status.

Search Complete. 0 result(s) as of 7/24/2017 12:19:01 AM for $/SplendidCRM/Open/SplendidCRM6 [recursive], for file(s) *.*, not checked out, having status Edited, Merged, Missing, More Recent, Needs Merge, Old, Renegade, Unknown, any state , having any pin/share state
Paul Rony
SplendidCRM Software, Inc.
<a href="http://www.splendidcrm.com">http://www.splendidcrm.com</a>

Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:35 am
In the Search Window click the Clear button and then set the search options again. It looks like you are looking for files that are either pinned or shared with those statuses. Also, check the path selected in the tree prior to clicking Search. It picks up the path from what you have selected in the tree.

Try clearing all the search options out and start with something simple, like only items with a Missing status, and nothing else set to search for. Show me a screenshot of what your search window looks like prior to launching the search.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:01 am
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:23 am
The problem clearly seems like a bug. From what I can tell, the Share/pins check is not staying cleared. The trick then is to first search for None, then search for the desired file status. I get the expected results with the list of old files. If I then set Share/pins flag, search, clear Share/pins flag, search I get nothing. The clue that removing the Share/pin flag is not working is in the query:
Search Complete. 0 result(s) as of 8/2/2017 2:19:02 AM for $/SplendidCRM/Open Community/SQL Scripts [recursive], for file(s) *.*, having status Edited, Merged, Missing, More Recent, Needs Merge, Old, Renegade, Unknown, having any pin/share state

The working query has no mention of pin/share state, but I first have to run a None search. The query is:
Search Complete. 44 result(s) as of 8/2/2017 2:19:59 AM for $/SplendidCRM/Open Community/SQL Scripts [recursive], for file(s) *.*, having status Edited, Merged, Missing, More Recent, Needs Merge, Old, Renegade, Unknown

Notice that there is no mention of the Share/pin state. Also, when I return to the Search dialog, the Share/pin flag typically appears, but not after I bounce through the None state.

To conclude, clearing the Share/pin flag is not working.
Paul Rony
SplendidCRM Software, Inc.
<a href="http://www.splendidcrm.com">http://www.splendidcrm.com</a>

Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:12 am
When you are clearing settings, are you manually unchecking the settings or using the Clear button that is at the bottom of the window? The method I want you to use is to click the 'Clear' button at the bottom of the window.

On just unchecking individual options instead of using the Clear button, I have this logged for the developers to change the behavior.

F: 19853
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:01 am
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 11:43 pm
The clear button works as expected.
Paul Rony
SplendidCRM Software, Inc.
<a href="http://www.splendidcrm.com">http://www.splendidcrm.com</a>

Return to Support (Vault)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests