Changing Vault's default monitor via regedit?

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear


Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2017 11:59 am
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:00 am
Running into an odd issue today.
I'm telecommuting. My work computer has two monitors, but home only one.
Running Windows 10 in both cases.
When I last used Vault at work, Vault must have been on my second monitor. When I try to open up Vault today, I cannot access Vault because the program opens up on the non-existent monitor.

There are several programs (apparently UltraMon among them) which can help me move programs that are stuck like this. However, I'm reluctant to download non-approved code onto my work computer.

Is the monitor opened up via info stored in 'regedit'? If so, which values? I can modify those on my end, and solve the problem.

Obviously when I get to work tomorrow, I can temporarily solve the problem by making sure never to leave Vault open on the non-primary monitor.
Also, I might be able to uninstall-reinstall Vault today, but that seems overkill.

To be more specific, when I start Vault I can see the Connect to Server:
Image1.PNG
Image1.PNG (1.36 KiB) Viewed 1885 times

and then I can choose repository:
Image2.PNG
Image2.PNG (1.71 KiB) Viewed 1885 times


But, after that, all screens are hidden.
I have a suspicion that the 'FormMain' will be the next thing to try and change, and that
(FormMain.Left,-1932) will be need to be changed to (FormMain.Left,0).

Thank you for your time and help.
(Followup - I did do this, and it worked. The explicit instructions are:
To solve:
1) Close Vault
2) run regedit (type regedit in the bottom left windows search prompt)….
a) Click HKEY_CURRENT_USER
b) Click SOFTWARE
c) Click SourceGear
d) Click Vault/Client/Settings
e) Change FormMain (left hand info) from (FormMain.Left,-1932) to (FormMain.Left,0)
f) I also changed Shelve Dialog (left hand info) from (ShelveDialog.Left,-1240) to (ShelveDialog.Left,0)
3) Run Vault
)
Sincerely,
Michael M.
Last edited by mmorris on Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 4:20 pm
Here's a method you should be able to use for any program.

1) Press ALT - TAB until you have selected the Vault program.
2) Press ALT - SPACE which will open a menu.
3) Press M.
4) Use your arrow keys to move the window onto the screen. Or after touching an arrow key you should be able to use the mouse to drag the window onto the screen.

If for some reason you have the window Maximized, then you need to add 2 steps in between steps 1 and 2.
1a) Press ALT - SPACE which will open a menu.
1b) Press R.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Return to Support (Vault)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests