Vault Client for Visual Studio 2008 (Beta)

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

mscheuner
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:55 am
Location: Berne, Switzerland
Contact:

Vault Client for Visual Studio 2008 (Beta)

Post by mscheuner » Thu Sep 13, 2007 5:23 am

Any hope we'll get a client for Vault 4 for the VS2008 Beta program, too? It's kinda annoying to have Vault 4 client in VS2005 and nothing in VS2008B2 ...

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by Beth » Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:28 am

We are currently working on that. We're tentatively planning to have support for VS 2008 in 4.1 beta 1, which is planned for mid-October. I can't guarantee the schedule on that, but it is coming.

paolohu
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2004 10:17 pm

Post by paolohu » Thu Oct 04, 2007 1:16 pm

let me know when and where to sign up

jclausius
Posts: 3660
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Thu Oct 04, 2007 3:33 pm

Another option for you. The Vault MSSCCI IDE client works, so you could use that to work with Visual Studio 2008 Beta 2.
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

paolohu
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2004 10:17 pm

Post by paolohu » Thu Oct 04, 2007 3:41 pm

yes that is what we've been using so far

brentbordelon
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 1:41 pm

Post by brentbordelon » Tue Oct 30, 2007 10:19 am

Any update on the VS2008b2 client?

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by Beth » Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:17 pm

Sorry. It's been pushed back a little. Right now it's set for late November.

paulirwin
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:56 pm
Location: Lakeland, FL

Post by paulirwin » Fri Nov 09, 2007 8:42 am

i'd like to second that request. the VS2003 client does not work properly in 2008 with multiple projects in a solution that are different types (class, web). we've actually unbound the projects and are temporarily using the vault client tool program instead until a 2008 client is available.

brentbordelon
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 1:41 pm

Post by brentbordelon » Fri Nov 09, 2007 8:50 am

We've had to do this as well. We're attempting trial upgrades from 2005 to 2008, but get nothing but errors if we leave the solution bound via the 2005 client. As a result, we've had to revert to unbinding from the 2005 client, then rebinding using the the 2003 client - then the upgrade works.

I can understand wanting to wait until VS2008 is released, but because of our situation, we can't even reliably use the 2005 client.

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by Beth » Fri Nov 09, 2007 9:40 am

paulirwin: Thanks for the report on that. I will get that in front of the developers.

brentbordelon: I would expect the VSIP client (VS 2005) to have gone through changes because VS 2005 was the first time Microsoft had that available. VS 2003 is MCSCCI which is what Microsoft most commonly uses with their products. These are just descriptions of interfaces and have nothing to do with which version of VS you are using and won't affect your solution's success. They are just different ways of working. There isn't going to be a "VS 2008" client. There is VSIP or MCSCCI. More information can be found here: VSIP vs MCSCCI.

Continue using VS 2003. I will let the developers know about the errors you received. Can you tell me exactly what errors you are receiving?

gmagana
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 10:51 am
Location: Santa Ana, CA, USA

Post by gmagana » Fri Nov 09, 2007 12:56 pm

Hmm MS has committed to an end of November release of VS2008 (That's three weeks!)... do you think SG will have a 2008-compatible client by then?

http://www.sdtimes.com/article/LatestNe ... 01-05.html

Given the many improvements (especially for web applications) in the new version, we will want to switch all projects over as soon as it's out (in fact we are beginning a new project on 2008 already). It would be really cool if we could use version control on this already...
gabriel magana-gonzalez

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Tell me what you see with VS 2008

Post by Beth » Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:23 pm

We're working on it. For anyone that ran across errors, can you either post screenshots here, or provide details of how you got that error? You can also feel free to email support at sourcegear.com (attn: Beth) with this kind of information. That way I can get it in front of the developers to make sure we have all the different scenarios covered. In house I believe we have a lot of this working, but there could be cases or situations we hadn't thought of.

So, even though there isn't official support yet, please feel free to tell me what you ran across so that I can make sure your scenario gets looked at and/or tested.

jclausius
Posts: 3660
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Fri Nov 09, 2007 2:07 pm

paulirwin wrote:i'd like to second that request. the VS2003 client does not work properly in 2008 with multiple projects in a solution that are different types (class, web). we've actually unbound the projects and are temporarily using the vault client tool program instead until a 2008 client is available.
Paul:

My internal testing didn't show any problems with VS 2008 and the MSSCCI client. What problems are you seeing? Any errors? What types of projects are in the solution? ( Web Sites? Web Projects? Win Forms? Console? )
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

jayson.knight
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 4:04 pm

Post by jayson.knight » Sun Nov 25, 2007 8:55 pm

Is there a way to unbind a solution from source control w/o having to use the VS Client? Reason being is that I've upgraded to VS 2008, and like the other folks in this thread I am now unable to open any projects that were bound using the VS 2005 client. I do not have VS 2005 installed, but can reinstall it if that is the only way to unbind a project from source control...I'm assuming there is a way to do it w/o having to reinstall VS 2005 though as that is a last resort for me.

Thanks
Jayson Knight

jclausius
Posts: 3660
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Sun Nov 25, 2007 9:06 pm

Each type of project will be different, but if you inspect the solution and project files, you should be able to determine what is bound by visually inspecting these files. Assuming you have them in source control, you could try to do the minor surgery by hand leaving everything in an unbound state.
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

Post Reply