Unable to Retrieve Project - Please Help!

If you are having a problem using SourceOffSite, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

BrianDrab
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:27 pm
Contact:

Unable to Retrieve Project - Please Help!

Post by BrianDrab » Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:08 pm

I've spent 3 days now and way too many hours trying to research and figure this out on my own. It's beyond me. I'm hoping someone will be able to help.

We have a VS 2005 Solution in VSS comprised of four sub-projects. One of these sub-projects happens to be a Setup project.

When using VSS through the VS IDE we are able to retieve and use the solution and projects no problem.

When doing the same exact thing using SOS through the IDE the hourglass comes up and stays up when it gets to the Setup project. I have to forcibly close down Visual Studio when this happens and then stop and re-start the SOS server serivce.

When I look at the SOS log file the last line is always "Enter PinStatus()"

Any assistance would be GREATLY appreciated.
Brian C Drab

Terence
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by Terence » Wed Apr 16, 2008 7:45 am

What version of SOS are you running? Also, what version of VSS?

Also, in what way are you trying to open the solution? Did you do an Open From Source Control, or did you have it on your local disk already and attempt to open it that way?
Terence McGhee
SourceGear

BrianDrab
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:27 pm
Contact:

Post by BrianDrab » Wed Apr 16, 2008 8:02 am

SOS Version = 4.2
VSS 2005 = 8.0.50727.1551
SSAPI.DLL = 8.0.50727.1551 (QFE.050727-1500)


We ALWAYS do an Open From Source Control. Most of the time we get in the habit of deleting the local copy before doing this as well.
Brian C Drab

Terence
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by Terence » Wed Apr 16, 2008 8:45 am

Have you applied the VSS 2005 patch from Microsoft?

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/943847

I think applying this patch will solve your issue. Let us know if it doesn't.
Terence McGhee
SourceGear

BrianDrab
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:27 pm
Contact:

Post by BrianDrab » Wed Apr 16, 2008 9:13 am

Yes we did. We actually did this as a result of a previous support issue that we had.

http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic ... 0648#40648
Brian C Drab

Terence
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by Terence » Wed Apr 16, 2008 9:27 am

Ok. If you use the SOS Gui client to download the Setup project manually, will Visual Studio then work with it?
Terence McGhee
SourceGear

BrianDrab
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:27 pm
Contact:

Post by BrianDrab » Wed Apr 16, 2008 9:31 am

Good question but to make sure I understand what you would like me to try can you verify the following:

1. Delete the entire solution off of my local hard drive
2. Open up the SOS GUI and get latest version of the Setup Project
3. Open VS 2005 and Open From Source Control the Solution just like normal.
Brian C Drab

Terence
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by Terence » Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:18 am

Steps 1 & 2 are correct.

For step 3, don't do an Open From Source Control. Instead, simply open Visual Studio and choose File->Open Project/Solution...

Navigate to the solution that you just downloaded and select it.
Terence McGhee
SourceGear

BrianDrab
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:27 pm
Contact:

Post by BrianDrab » Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:55 am

OK. Here are the results. When I do this the first message that comes up is what is shown in the attached Message1.jpg file.

When I click OK then a second message comes up which is attached as Message2.jpg.

Regardless of how I answer the message shown in Message2.jpg the project DOES open.
Attachments
message1.JPG
message1.JPG (36.62 KiB) Viewed 17390 times
message2.JPG
message2.JPG (25.04 KiB) Viewed 17390 times
Brian C Drab

Terence
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by Terence » Wed Apr 16, 2008 11:12 am

That is actually very useful!

If I'm understanding everything correctly, you should now have everything working in Visual Studio... albeit nothing is under Source Control.

What we can do now, is go to File->Source Control->Change Source Control...

and Rebind every project to its location in the repository. You should bind them all one-by-one (saving the Setup project for last).

Can you let me know if this helps?
Terence McGhee
SourceGear

BrianDrab
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:27 pm
Contact:

Post by BrianDrab » Wed Apr 16, 2008 11:40 am

Not exactly.

If you go back to the steps that you had me do.

1. Delete the entire solution off of my local hard drive
2. Open up the SOS GUI and get latest version of the Setup Project
3. Open the Setup project locally

The ONLY project currently on my hard drive is the Setup Project and yes it opens albeit without Source Control.

Now this is probably not what you were thinking but for the heck of it I went to Change Source Control (see CSC1.jpg), selected the Solution file (since you said to do the Setup Project last) and clicked Bind. Source OffSite came up and I navigated to the solution folder. After clicking OK an error came up (Error1.jpg).
Attachments
CSC1.JPG
CSC1.JPG (29.78 KiB) Viewed 17381 times
error1.JPG
error1.JPG (25.53 KiB) Viewed 17381 times
Brian C Drab

Terence
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by Terence » Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:40 pm

I'm so sorry, Brian. I wasn't clear.

1. Delete the entire solution off of local hard drive
2. Open up the SOS GUI and get latest version of the Entire Solution
3. Open Visual Studio and choose File->Open Project/Solution... Navigate to the solution that you just downloaded and select it.
4. Go to File->Source Control->Change Source Control...

and Rebind every project to its location in the repository. You should bind them all one-by-one (saving the Setup project for last).
Terence McGhee
SourceGear

BrianDrab
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:27 pm
Contact:

Post by BrianDrab » Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:51 pm

OK. As a note when the dialog box (Message2.jpg) from earlier came up I chose the 2nd option "Permanently remove..." if it matters.

Now you are correct. Everything was open in VS 2005 albeit unbound. I did as you said and re-bound each project and solution saving the setup project for last.

All but the setup project re-bound successfully. You can see (binding.jpg) which shows all but the setup project bound.

When I tried to re-bind the setup project I got an error (errorbind.jpg).

It's just frustrating that this all works in VSS just fine. I don't get it.
Attachments
binding.JPG
binding.JPG (45.72 KiB) Viewed 17433 times
errorbind.JPG
errorbind.JPG (25.16 KiB) Viewed 17433 times
Brian C Drab

Terence
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by Terence » Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:57 pm

I'm hesitant to have you go through all of this again, but it would be really helpful, if you could capture the text in the Output window and attach it please.
Terence McGhee
SourceGear

BrianDrab
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:27 pm
Contact:

Post by BrianDrab » Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:08 pm

No problem.

---- Operation started at time 3:05:36 PM ----
Retrieving File List: $/Visual Basic .NET 2005/Settlements Solution/Settlements Setup
---- Operation terminated with error at time 3:05:37 PM ----
Brian C Drab

Post Reply