Why is Recursive greyed out when doing Check-out...

If you are having a problem using Fortress, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

dist0rti0n
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Birmingham, AL

Why is Recursive greyed out when doing Check-out...

Post by dist0rti0n » Sat Apr 05, 2008 10:38 pm

...from the project level?

Prior to the latest version I didn't have an issue with this.

See attached screenshot.

http://picasaweb.google.com/zack.beadle ... 1611699154
<a href="http://www.vertagen.com">Vertagen Solutions</a>

jclausius
Posts: 3656
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Sun Apr 06, 2008 9:17 pm

Is it possible there is a file checked out within the branch? You won't be able to get an exclusive, recursive check-out to work if there is already a lock on an item in a sub-folder.

I'm not sure that is the problem you're seeing, but it seemed like a good guess.
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

dist0rti0n
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Birmingham, AL

Post by dist0rti0n » Tue Apr 15, 2008 5:25 pm

Nope - no files checked out.
<a href="http://www.vertagen.com">Vertagen Solutions</a>

dist0rti0n
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Birmingham, AL

Post by dist0rti0n » Thu May 29, 2008 9:07 pm

Could I get an update on this issue?

Here's a screenshot of what I'm talking about:

Image

This is the dialog I was presented when right-clicking and selecting checkout on a project.
<a href="http://www.vertagen.com">Vertagen Solutions</a>

ian_sg
Posts: 787
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 10:55 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by ian_sg » Fri May 30, 2008 8:02 am

Good question. I was able to reproduce this: you can't recursively check out from a project. I've logged a bug to get it fixed.
Ian Olsen
SourceGear

dist0rti0n
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Birmingham, AL

Post by dist0rti0n » Fri May 30, 2008 1:59 pm

ian_sg wrote:Good question. I was able to reproduce this: you can't recursively check out from a project. I've logged a bug to get it fixed.
Thanks!
<a href="http://www.vertagen.com">Vertagen Solutions</a>

thx1200
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:30 pm

Re: Why is Recursive greyed out when doing Check-out...

Post by thx1200 » Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:32 pm

I am having the exact same problem and it's pretty annoying... Is there any status on when an update might be available to fix this problem?

Thank you!

ian_sg
Posts: 787
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 10:55 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Why is Recursive greyed out when doing Check-out...

Post by ian_sg » Thu Sep 04, 2008 12:05 pm

We don't have an ETA at this time. Note that you can select multiple nodes and checkout an entire project/solution this way.
Ian Olsen
SourceGear

thx1200
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:30 pm

Re: Why is Recursive greyed out when doing Check-out...

Post by thx1200 » Thu Sep 04, 2008 12:10 pm

I'm currently using the standalone client to do full-project check-outs. I wasn't able to recursively check out multiple nodes using Visual Studio. It would only check out the project file (vbproj) and not any of the vb source files underneath. So to check out the entire project, I would have to individually click on each file, which would be a pretty major waste of time. heh.

I hope this issue is fixed in the next release, whenever that is... The standalone client works fine, so I can't imagine this being a huge issue to fix in the Studio client. The problem is that the standalone client is yet-another-window I have to have open, which defeats the purpose of the integrated solution.

Thanks for making an overall amazing product, despite this one mildly annoying bug. :-)

ian_sg
Posts: 787
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 10:55 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Why is Recursive greyed out when doing Check-out...

Post by ian_sg » Thu Sep 04, 2008 12:20 pm

I agree that it's annoying, but it's not quite as annoying as clicking every file in a project:

Expand the project node. Click on the project node. Shift-click on the last file in the project. Checkout. Done. :)

Sorry for the inconvenience.
Ian Olsen
SourceGear

lodani
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:44 am

Re: Why is Recursive greyed out when doing Check-out...

Post by lodani » Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:50 am

is this bug still alive after almost a year since it was detected? My checkout is grayed out if I use the Advanced Client, but works fine with the classic client.

very anoying

thx1200
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:30 pm

Re: Why is Recursive greyed out when doing Check-out...

Post by thx1200 » Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:08 pm

I never use the advanced client for this very reason. I still find it unbelievable that it's not fixed yet. It seems so simple.

ian_sg
Posts: 787
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 10:55 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Why is Recursive greyed out when doing Check-out...

Post by ian_sg » Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:18 pm

Thanks for the feedback, this one did slip through the cracks. I've bumped up the priority on the bug.
Ian Olsen
SourceGear

lodani
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:44 am

Re: Why is Recursive greyed out when doing Check-out...

Post by lodani » Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:19 pm

thx1200 wrote:I never use the advanced client for this very reason. I still find it unbelievable that it's not fixed yet. It seems so simple.
wow thank you!. I was hoping that this issue could be fixable throught configuration but now I realized that is not.

Then, this slowness in bugfixing is scary. I'm still in the evaluating process (Vault vs TFS) and I don't know if this the usual response time from SourceGear, but is quite worrying. :-(

lo

AjarnMark
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 4:22 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Why is Recursive greyed out when doing Check-out...

Post by AjarnMark » Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:37 pm

Lodani, I wouldn't let this influence your decision much. We have been using Fortress (and Vault/Dragnet before it) for a couple of years and we love the products, and have always found the support at SourceGear (the FEW times we have needed it) to be exceptional! And if you're comparing it to Microsoft's track record...well...let's just say that you will get superior personalized support from SourceGear.

Post Reply