Fortress and Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++

If you are having a problem using Fortress, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Neil Weicher
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 7:14 am
Location: Stamford, CT
Contact:

Fortress and Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++

Post by Neil Weicher » Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:38 pm

I am using Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++ and I am having the devil of the time getting Fortress to integrate into it. (I have no problem with Visual Studio 2005 or 2008, just 6.0).

I did set Fortress as the default source control, but I still keep getting errors that it can't connect to the source control system.

I came across this post from a while ago.
http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic ... 26&p=41134

Does this apply to Fortress as well as Vault, because using the tips here, I still get
Error Accessing Source Code Control system
followed by
Unable to connect to source control project $/Drivers/Current. Do you wish...

I have included the following lines in the DSP:

Code: Select all

# PROP Scc_ProjName "$/Drivers/Current"
# PROP Scc_LocalPath "."
Also put these lines in mssccprj.scc in the directory:

Code: Select all

SCC = This is a Source Code Control file
 
[SETPASS.DSP]
SCC_Aux_Path = http://192.168.123.12:16434|neil:1
SCC_Project_Name = $/Drivers/Current
I have also tried SCC_Aux_Path as this, also with no luck:

Code: Select all

SCC_Aux_Path = http://192.168.123.12:16434
Any idea how to get this working with VS 6.0 C/C++?

Thanks.

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Re: Fortress and Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++

Post by lbauer » Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:58 pm

We've been trying to reproduce your issue. Can you tell me which version of Visual C++ you have? Is it Enterprise or the Professional Edition?

Can you look in your registry for the following keys?
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SourceCodeControlProvider
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SourceGear
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

Neil Weicher
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 7:14 am
Location: Stamford, CT
Contact:

Re: Fortress and Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++

Post by Neil Weicher » Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:20 pm

Thanks Linda. It is Visual Studio C/C++ 6.0 Enterprise Edition.

Here are the registry keys and their contents as regedit output. Let me know if you need anything else. Thanks.

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SourceCodeControlProvider]
"ProviderRegKey"="SOFTWARE\\SourceGear\\Fortress Client"
"ProviderRegKey_BeforeVault"="SOFTWARE\\SourceGear\\Fortress Client"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SourceCodeControlProvider\InstalledSCCProviders]
"SourceGear Vault VS2003 Compatible Client"="SOFTWARE\\SourceGear\\Fortress Client"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SourceGear]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SourceGear\Fortress Client]
"InstallDir"="C:\\Program Files\\SourceGear\\Fortress Client\\"
"SCCServerName"="SourceGear Fortress Classic Client"
"SCCServerPath"="C:\\Program Files\\SourceGear\\Fortress Client\\VS2003_Client\\VaultIDE.dll"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SourceGear\SourceGear Fortress Client]
"InstallDir"="C:\\Program Files\\SourceGear\\Fortress Client\\"

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Fortress and Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++

Post by Beth » Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:10 pm

Could you try using our Fortress demo server as the address and see if can connect to that? Details about that server are in the link. You could log in as guest1 with a password of guest1.

This is to rule out having a port in the address causing an issue with where you manually set the path. You might be able to put a different address there.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Neil Weicher
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 7:14 am
Location: Stamford, CT
Contact:

Re: Fortress and Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++

Post by Neil Weicher » Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:15 am

Unfortunately I still get the same result. This is the new MSSCCPRJ.SCC:

Code: Select all

SCC = This is a Source Code Control file

[SETPASS.DSP]
SCC_Aux_Path = http://fortressdemo.sourcegear.com|guest1:1
SCC_Project_Name = $/Drivers/Current
I have tried it with and without the "http://". Is there a way for you to tell if it has attempted a connection?

Incidentally, I can connect via the Fortress Client although I get a client version error. We are currently on 1.1.4.18402.

Thanks.

Neil Weicher
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 7:14 am
Location: Stamford, CT
Contact:

Re: Fortress and Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++

Post by Neil Weicher » Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:40 am

I don't know if this is relevant, but if I go into Tools, Options and attempt to set Fortress as the default SCC Provider, the box is grayed out, which generally means "partial":

Image

I then go and set it to all, and click Ok:
Image

But when I go back into Options again, it is still grayed out.

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Fortress and Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++

Post by Beth » Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:15 pm

The box being partially gray like that shouldn't matter. I have installs that work with the box looking like that.

Right now I'm trying old versions to see if there was some change between versions that is the culprit.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Neil Weicher
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 7:14 am
Location: Stamford, CT
Contact:

Re: Fortress and Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++

Post by Neil Weicher » Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:20 am

Any update on this? Thanks.

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Fortress and Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++

Post by Beth » Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:52 pm

I've continued working on it. I've gotten it working on older versions of Vault, but I haven't narrowed down the difference yet.

If you'd like to move forward, one thing you could try downloading Vault 3.0.7, then make a test project with that, then uninstall Vault 3.0.7 and install your current version and see if it works for you. As I was going back up through the versions, it kept working after that. I'm not sure if I got as far as installing Vault 4.x though yet after that, because I've been trying to pinpoint which exact older versions are fine and the exact point at which it breaks and why.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Neil Weicher
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 7:14 am
Location: Stamford, CT
Contact:

Re: Fortress and Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++

Post by Neil Weicher » Wed Aug 19, 2009 1:04 pm

Are you saying that you are experiencing the same problem when using Fortress?

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Fortress and Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++

Post by Beth » Wed Aug 19, 2009 2:18 pm

Vault 4.x and Fortress 1.x will work the same way with Visual Studio, so to check older versions I went back to older Vault versions. So, yes, the issue is the same in Fortress. I will be doing more testing though, so if you prefer to wait until I get it up to working with Fortress 1.1.x, that's fine too.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Neil Weicher
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 7:14 am
Location: Stamford, CT
Contact:

Re: Fortress and Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++

Post by Neil Weicher » Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:13 pm

Thanks. I'm sort of dead in the water until I get a resolution to it.

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Fortress and Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++

Post by Beth » Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:35 pm

You still can check out with the Fortress GUI client, edit files in Visual Studio, and then check those files in with the Fortress GUI client. You should be able to continue working, but it will be a few more clicks.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Fortress and Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++

Post by Beth » Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:44 pm

Also, I just tried Vault 4.1.4 with it and it's working now, and then I uninstalled and tried with Fortress. So, my idea of going to the old version works.

I will still be digging down to find the root cause and get that logged for our developers to fix, but the work-around should get you functional.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Neil Weicher
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 7:14 am
Location: Stamford, CT
Contact:

Re: Fortress and Visual Studio 6.0 C/C++

Post by Neil Weicher » Tue Aug 25, 2009 2:41 pm

Checking in again. Any update on this?

Post Reply