Applying only parts

Support for our DiffMerge utility.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
harper
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:39 pm

Applying only parts

Post by harper » Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:49 pm

I have often the need to compare C sources file that shall be merged line by line. Imagine you have this file at the left hand side:

Code: Select all

// AAAAA
int foo;
// TODO: remove this
int bar
// BBBBB
and this right file:

Code: Select all

// AAAAA
// BBBBB
Now I compare both files and DiffMerge detects the three lines from "foo" to "bar" as a difference. So far so good. But I don't want to copy all three lines to the right file but only the variables. Unfortunatly DiffMerge allows only to copy a complete block of lines. It would be necessary to make this smarter. I would prefer to select some lines, mark lines, probably select other line(s) and finally click on Apply Changes. What do you think about that?

Harper

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Re: Applying only parts

Post by lbauer » Thu Nov 14, 2013 4:19 pm

We've had other comments about this. See if this post explains the issues:

http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic ... 33&t=21943
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

harper
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:39 pm

Re: Applying only parts

Post by harper » Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:31 pm

lbauer wrote:We've had other comments about this. See if this post explains the issues:

http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic ... 33&t=21943
Sorry, I missed how this is related. The referred post asked somthing to a feature that omits unimportant lines. I don't have any line that is detected as unimportant. I just want to select the lines to copy to the right file. Changing the options with Ctrl+U doesn't affect my question.

jeffhostetler
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:37 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Applying only parts

Post by jeffhostetler » Fri Nov 15, 2013 8:50 am

Try doing a Ctrl+Click on the change.
When the control key is down, we treat
the changed region line-by-line.

jeff

harper
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:39 pm

Re: Applying only parts

Post by harper » Sat Nov 16, 2013 4:22 am

jeffhostetler wrote:Try doing a Ctrl+Click on the change.
When the control key is down, we treat
the changed region line-by-line.

jeff
Ah, I found it in the help under "Aggregating Changes". I just want to do the opposite of aggregate, i.e. split the change. The help might get a slightly different caption.
But with the Control key I can control what to changed. Works fine. :)

jeffhostetler
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:37 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Applying only parts

Post by jeffhostetler » Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:56 am

good point. i'll log that.
thanks
j

Post Reply