Search results when searching for items not complete

Post your questions regarding using the Vault and Fortress API in your programs.

Moderator: SourceGear

dprothero
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 12:18 pm
Location: Stockton California
Contact:

Search results when searching for items not complete

Post by dprothero » Mon Feb 28, 2011 1:44 pm

If I am looking for an Item in the VaultPro web interface, I enter search text in the search box in the upper right corner and click search. The problem is that the results are not always complete. There are items I know exist and they contain the specific text in the Description field of the item and they simply do not show up in the search results.

For example, if I search for "CVS", I would expect the item numbered 2706 to come up, which has as the description: "Sites: CVS Transcript Manual Feed"

I can search for any of the other words in that description, even the entire description itself, and that item never comes up in the search results. It's like that item doesn't exist in whatever search index is being used.

Is this a known bug? I tried searching around in the forums before posting and could not find anything.

David

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Search results when searching for items not complete

Post by Beth » Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:25 pm

At the top of your results page, what is included in the results of your search? You should see something like "Items with keyword(s) in the Description or Details or Comment :" and then the word you searched for.

Do you get the same results if you go to the Query page and run a query of CVS? If so, what options do you have checked on that page?

What is the status on items that don't appear to show up?

Is there more than one page of results? The arrow to go to the next page of results is small and on the right side. I have it pointed out in the screenshot below.
Attachments
next page.JPG
next page.JPG (4.67 KiB) Viewed 23347 times
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

dprothero
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 12:18 pm
Location: Stockton California
Contact:

Re: Search results when searching for items not complete

Post by dprothero » Mon Feb 28, 2011 3:13 pm

> At the top of your results page, what is included in the results of your search?
> You should see something like "Items with keyword(s) in the Description or Details
> or Comment :" and then the word you searched for.

"Items with keyword(s) in the Description or Details or Comment : CVS"

Followed by an "Update" button.

> Do you get the same results if you go to the Query page and run a query of CVS?

Same results, yes.

> If so, what options do you have checked on that page?

Just Descriptions, Details, and Comments under "Search Area". No other options checked.

> What is the status on items that don't appear to show up?

Completed. However, other items with Completed status DO show up.

> Is there more than one page of results?

Yes, there is more than one page (2), and all have been inspected.

> The arrow to go to the next page of results
> is small and on the right side. I have it pointed out in the screenshot below.

I know what you are referring two on the arrow for the paged results. However, just FYI, I don't see a screenshot on the forum. I just see "You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post."

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Search results when searching for items not complete

Post by Beth » Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:04 am

Could I have you run the following two queries against your database separately?
DBCC CHECKDATABASE('sgdragnet')
Save your results in a .txt file and either post it here or send it via email. If send it by email, then send it to support at sourcegear.com (attn: Beth) with a link to this forum thread.

Code: Select all

SELECT COUNT(*) FROM sgdragnet.dbo.keyworddelimiters
Post what your end result from this is.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

dprothero
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 12:18 pm
Location: Stockton California
Contact:

Re: Search results when searching for items not complete

Post by dprothero » Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:14 am

Done, and emailed you.

As for the SELECT COUNT(*), it returns a value of 227.

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Search results when searching for items not complete

Post by Beth » Thu Mar 03, 2011 4:36 pm

Just an update here that we are working on this issue offline.

HS: 222478
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Search results when searching for items not complete

Post by Beth » Mon Mar 07, 2011 4:35 pm

The user found the root cause for this. They have a custom plug-in that doesn't go through the VautClientIntegrationLib for adding items. For future customers that may have the same behavior, check into using the VautClientIntegrationLib.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

dprothero
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 12:18 pm
Location: Stockton California
Contact:

Re: Search results when searching for items not complete

Post by dprothero » Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:32 pm

We are now trying to use the VaultClientIntegration Library. I'm having a few issues when trying to create a new item-

Here is my code (I've already done the login part)-

Dim newItem As FortressItemExpanded = New FortressItemExpanded()

newItem.Assignee = assignee
newItem.ProjectName = projectName
newItem.ItemType = itemType
newItem.Description = description
newItem.Details = details
newItem.Status = status
newItem.Category = category
newItem.Resolver = resolver
newItem.Platform = platform
newItem.Custom1 = projectFrom
newItem.Custom2 = testers
newItem.TimeEstimate = timeEstimate.ToString
newItem.Priority = priority
newItem.UseHtmlInDetails = useHtmlInDetails

newItem.Validate() 'Call Validate after setting all your strings for your item and before you pass the item to a method

newItem = ItemTrackingOperations.ProcessCommandAddFortressItem(newItem)



1) I can't get past the Validate step because it is telling me "Website Projects is not a project name recognized by Vault Professional." "Website Projects" is the value of projectName, and that also exists in the projects table in the name field. What should be placed in this field?

2) Assuming you can help me with 1), how do I capture the itemid which is created in the AddFortressItem step? I need this for other custom code.

Thanks for you help.

-Doug

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Search results when searching for items not complete

Post by Beth » Mon May 02, 2011 3:39 pm

The line, "newItem.ProjectName = projectName," will set the Vault Pro (Fortress) Work Item's project name to a value. The call to Validate() is only meant to check the project name exists in Vault Pro. If you open a web browser, do you see the project Website Projects already?

After the call to ProcessCommandAddFortressItem(), check the return value of newitem. It should have newitem.ID which should be the value returned from the Vault Pro server of the newly created item.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

dprothero
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 12:18 pm
Location: Stockton California
Contact:

Re: Search results when searching for items not complete

Post by dprothero » Mon May 02, 2011 4:11 pm

Yes, we have 2 projects-
"Website Projects" and
"Report Server"

dprothero
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 12:18 pm
Location: Stockton California
Contact:

Re: Search results when searching for items not complete

Post by dprothero » Mon May 02, 2011 4:52 pm

So am I doing it correctly? I want to create a new item with the Project "Website Projects"...

Thanks

-Doug

dprothero
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 12:18 pm
Location: Stockton California
Contact:

Re: Search results when searching for items not complete

Post by dprothero » Tue May 03, 2011 9:07 am

When I comment out the assigment of the ProjectName, it then errors with "This operation requires that a project be set."

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Search results when searching for items not complete

Post by Beth » Tue May 03, 2011 10:06 am

Can you put the project name back as it was and then post a screenshot of the error you are getting?

Do you have quotes around the project name?
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

dprothero
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 12:18 pm
Location: Stockton California
Contact:

Re: Search results when searching for items not complete

Post by dprothero » Tue May 03, 2011 10:17 am

There are not quotes around the projectName.

Here is a screenshot of the error-
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (56.11 KiB) Viewed 23305 times

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Search results when searching for items not complete

Post by Beth » Tue May 03, 2011 2:57 pm

You could call ItemTrackingOperations.ProcessCommandListFortressProjects() and go through that list of "MantisProjects" to see if the name "Website Projects" is in there. That would tell us if the API can see the project.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Post Reply