Equivalence mode not working

Support for our DiffMerge utility.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
russdirks
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:44 am

Equivalence mode not working

Post by russdirks » Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:55 am

I'm finding that files that should be marked as "equivalent" in folder diff are showing up as "different". I started with a .cpp , .bas and a .vbs file, made duplicates of each, and then modified white space in the second copy of each. For the vb files I also changed the case of a few identifiers. All program settings are default, which if I understand things correctly, should be giving me what I want, but it's not.

When I bring them into file diff, they are processed correctly.

Are there additional settings I need to change?

jeffhostetler
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:37 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Equivalence mode not working

Post by jeffhostetler » Fri Nov 18, 2011 9:35 am

I just did the same tests here and everything worked as expected.

Look at page "Folder Windows > Equivalence Mode" in the Options
Dialog. At the top there is "File Equivalence Mode". Set it to the
3rd option "Exact Match or Ruleset" and you should be good to go.

This option causes the folder scan to be much slower on large trees.

Let me know if this doesn't fix the problem.

jeff

russdirks
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:44 am

Re: Equivalence mode not working

Post by russdirks » Fri Nov 18, 2011 11:46 am

I checked my options and they are as you specified. Still not working. I've attached the files I'm working with.
Attachments
Files.zip
(9.3 KiB) Downloaded 291 times

jeffhostetler
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:37 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Equivalence mode not working

Post by jeffhostetler » Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:16 pm

The problem is blank line (about line 19) inserted in the
second version of the VB source files.

Having it there causes the folder view's equivalence filter
to think they are different. I know this sounds weird, but
that's what's going on.

I'm not sure why I had it work that way, but I'll log it to
revisit it.

thanks
jeff

russdirks
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:44 am

Re: Equivalence mode not working

Post by russdirks » Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:50 pm

Thanks. Great program overall!

Post Reply